Search results

  1. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Well, as I’ve said, I think the answer is really simple. The PHB says the Attack action means making an attack. There is no mention of a declaration phase. There are exceptions to the general rules that allow for splitting your Attack action with movement, implying that your Attack action now...
  2. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Sure, what conclusions are you trying to derive exactly? And, why aren’t they addressed by simply treating your turn like an ordered list of discrete elements?
  3. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Sure, what conclusions are you trying to derive exactly? And, why aren’t they addressed by simply treating your turn like an ordered list of discrete elements?
  4. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Exactly. The rules say you can move before and after your action. The Disengage action provides an effect that lasts until the end of your turn, which in my opinion means the effect is separate from the action itself. Thus, the duration of the Disengage action is irrelevant, the only thing...
  5. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Exactly. The rules say you can move before and after your action. The Disengage action provides an effect that lasts until the end of your turn, which in my opinion means the effect is separate from the action itself. Thus, the duration of the Disengage action is irrelevant, the only thing...
  6. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    My point is that the "duration of the Disengage action" is irrelevant and has no meaning or value. This is supported by the fact that there is zero language in the PHB about the "duration of an action", because in my opinion it simply does not matter. The only thing that matters is the order...
  7. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    My point is that the "duration of the Disengage action" is irrelevant and has no meaning or value. This is supported by the fact that there is zero language in the PHB about the "duration of an action", because in my opinion it simply does not matter. The only thing that matters is the order...
  8. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Our turn isn't over, so we haven't been able to determine if the shove was a bonus action or an action yet.
  9. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Our turn isn't over, so we haven't been able to determine if the shove was a bonus action or an action yet.
  10. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Movement is a discrete element in the ordered list that makes up your turn. Elements in that list can be movement, your action, bonus action, reaction, whatever. Example: 1) Move 2) Attack 3) Move 4) Attack 5) Move 6) Shield Master shove 7) Move Here's the relevant text from the PHB: This...
  11. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Movement is a discrete element in the ordered list that makes up your turn. Elements in that list can be movement, your action, bonus action, reaction, whatever. Example: 1) Move 2) Attack 3) Move 4) Attack 5) Move 6) Shield Master shove 7) Move Here's the relevant text from the PHB: This...
  12. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    I answered this 2 posts ago. 1) Move 2) Disengage 3) Move (this does not provoke OAs) Yes, you can move after you Disengage. The effect of that action lasts for the duration, which in this case is the end of your turn.
  13. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    I answered this 2 posts ago. 1) Move 2) Disengage 3) Move (this does not provoke OAs) Yes, you can move after you Disengage. The effect of that action lasts for the duration, which in this case is the end of your turn.
  14. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    I absolutely agree with you, because the Disengage action in and of itself has no concept of duration. The effect of that action lasts until the end of your turn, which means any movement elements in the ordered list that is your turn after the Disengage element do not provoke OAs.
  15. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    I absolutely agree with you, because the Disengage action in and of itself has no concept of duration. The effect of that action lasts until the end of your turn, which means any movement elements in the ordered list that is your turn after the Disengage element do not provoke OAs.
  16. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    As I've said, the rules say you can insert movement into the Attack action. That might give you an ordered list of this for your turn: 1) Move 2) Attack 3) Move 4) Attack 5) Move Duration of an action has no bearing on the effect of that action. Let's say that when you take the Disengage...
  17. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    As I've said, the rules say you can insert movement into the Attack action. That might give you an ordered list of this for your turn: 1) Move 2) Attack 3) Move 4) Attack 5) Move Duration of an action has no bearing on the effect of that action. Let's say that when you take the Disengage...
  18. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    I thought I was quite clear in my previous post. I was objecting to the notion that actions last as long as their effects, as this makes no sense for the Dodge and Disengage actions. I think I've explained in a large amount of detail why I think that actions simply have no implicit duration...
  19. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    I thought I was quite clear in my previous post. I was objecting to the notion that actions last as long as their effects, as this makes no sense for the Dodge and Disengage actions. I think I've explained in a large amount of detail why I think that actions simply have no implicit duration...
  20. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    As I've said, your turn is made up of discrete elements in an ordered list. Duration has no relevance. There's an explicit rule that says your Attack action can be split by movement. There are also bonus actions that are triggered by a single attack in the Attack action. Why do you insist on...
Top