Search results

  1. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Where does JEC say this? Disengage resolves instantly, and gives you the effect (or buff) that your movement for the rest of the turn no longer provokes OAs. You don't need to keep taking the Disengage action, nor does the action itself need to last until the end of your turn. How does this...
  2. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    The Dash action essentially gives you a buff for the rest of your turn: your movement speed doubles. The action resolves instantly and provides this buff effect for the stated duration. The Disengage action essentially gives you a buff for the rest of your turn: your movement no longer...
  3. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    The Dash action essentially gives you a buff for the rest of your turn: your movement speed doubles. The action resolves instantly and provides this buff effect for the stated duration. The Disengage action essentially gives you a buff for the rest of your turn: your movement no longer...
  4. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    But someone has to translate from the natural language a player uses to describe what they'd like to do on their turn into actual game mechanics, right? That could be the DM for an inexperienced player, or the player themselves. Otherwise, we're not really playing D&D anymore, are we? What...
  5. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    But someone has to translate from the natural language a player uses to describe what they'd like to do on their turn into actual game mechanics, right? That could be the DM for an inexperienced player, or the player themselves. Otherwise, we're not really playing D&D anymore, are we? What...
  6. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Again, the rules are filled with sentences that have the structure "if X, Y", and often more specifically "If you X, you can Y". This is the way the rules describe a trigger condition, and the condition must be true before Y can happen. This is confirmed by the lead rules designer...
  7. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Again, the rules are filled with sentences that have the structure "if X, Y", and often more specifically "If you X, you can Y". This is the way the rules describe a trigger condition, and the condition must be true before Y can happen. This is confirmed by the lead rules designer...
  8. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Would you mind providing an example of a bonus action that does have specific timing, and explaining how it differs from Shield Master? I'd like to understand how you're interpreting that part of the bonus action rules. https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/995064841214676994 "Today's...
  9. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Would you mind providing an example of a bonus action that does have specific timing, and explaining how it differs from Shield Master? I'd like to understand how you're interpreting that part of the bonus action rules. https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/995064841214676994 "Today's...
  10. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    This one: "You can take a bonus action only when a special ability, spell, or other feature of the game states that you can do something as a bonus action. You otherwise don't have a bonus action to take." You start your turn with your move and your action. If you say "I want to shove that...
  11. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    This one: "You can take a bonus action only when a special ability, spell, or other feature of the game states that you can do something as a bonus action. You otherwise don't have a bonus action to take." You start your turn with your move and your action. If you say "I want to shove that...
  12. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    If the game supports discrete events that effectively resolve instantly, then yes, you can move after disengaging. The effect of the Disengage action lasts until the end of your turn. The action itself is instantaneous, and thus there doesn't need to be a special rule that says "you can move...
  13. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    If the game supports discrete events that effectively resolve instantly, then yes, you can move after disengaging. The effect of the Disengage action lasts until the end of your turn. The action itself is instantaneous, and thus there doesn't need to be a special rule that says "you can move...
  14. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Right, so based on this: "You can break up your Movement on Your Turn, using some of your speed before and after your action. For example, if you have a speed of 30 feet, you can move 10 feet, take your action, and then move 20 feet." Let's say your action here was to Disengage. Your turn has...
  15. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Right, so based on this: "You can break up your Movement on Your Turn, using some of your speed before and after your action. For example, if you have a speed of 30 feet, you can move 10 feet, take your action, and then move 20 feet." Let's say your action here was to Disengage. Your turn has...
  16. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Right, this is what I was getting at above. It seems to me like a turn-based game like 5E would use discrete elements for combat. That certainly seems like the simplest solution. There's a rule that you can split your move up on your turn, allowing you to move before another type of discrete...
  17. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Right, this is what I was getting at above. It seems to me like a turn-based game like 5E would use discrete elements for combat. That certainly seems like the simplest solution. There's a rule that you can split your move up on your turn, allowing you to move before another type of discrete...
  18. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    But the language of Dread Ambusher is quite explicit that it's giving you an extra attack as part of your Attack action. If bonus actions like Shield Master or TWF acted like this, shouldn't they use the same language? On your turn, you have an action and your move. The bonus action rules are...
  19. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    But the language of Dread Ambusher is quite explicit that it's giving you an extra attack as part of your Attack action. If bonus actions like Shield Master or TWF acted like this, shouldn't they use the same language? On your turn, you have an action and your move. The bonus action rules are...
  20. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Your action for the turn is to disengage, which resolves instantly. The effect of that action is that your movement no longer provokes OAs, because you're being careful and dodging and weaving as you move. You could narrate this with as much flair as you like, but the underlying mechanic is...
Top