Search results

  1. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Where's the rule that lets you go back in time and change your bonus action to an action instead? Given the fact that the Shield Master shove has a trigger of taking the Attack action first, how did you even do the bonus action first? The Sage Advice compendium is quite clear that this isn't...
  2. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Where's the rule that lets you go back in time and change your bonus action to an action instead? Given the fact that the Shield Master shove has a trigger of taking the Attack action first, how did you even do the bonus action first? The Sage Advice compendium is quite clear that this isn't...
  3. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    If you'd rather use the one tweet that JEC says he doesn't even remember tweeting as the basis for your interpretation, despite the massive amount of evidence that suggests that particular tweet was incorrect (including JEC saying on many different occasions on many different platforms that the...
  4. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    If you'd rather use the one tweet that JEC says he doesn't even remember tweeting as the basis for your interpretation, despite the massive amount of evidence that suggests that particular tweet was incorrect (including JEC saying on many different occasions on many different platforms that the...
  5. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Right, so it sounds like you’re agreeing with me? Misty Step or Healing Word between attacks is fine, Shield Master shove not allowed until all attacks are taken because it has a timing requirement that must be met before you even have the bonus action.
  6. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Right, so it sounds like you’re agreeing with me? Misty Step or Healing Word between attacks is fine, Shield Master shove not allowed until all attacks are taken because it has a timing requirement that must be met before you even have the bonus action.
  7. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    A bonus action is not an action, though. You can't just convert one to the other. The bonus action rules explicitly say that you get to decide when you take your bonus action (if you have one), unless the bonus action itself specifies a timing restriction or trigger. JEC has clarified this on...
  8. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    A bonus action is not an action, though. You can't just convert one to the other. The bonus action rules explicitly say that you get to decide when you take your bonus action (if you have one), unless the bonus action itself specifies a timing restriction or trigger. JEC has clarified this on...
  9. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    I knew I'd seen this before. Reading more of the thread, we see this: https://twitter.com/jeremyecrawford/status/995134313841676288 So yeah, he was specifically talking about bonus actions with triggers like Shield Master and Two-Weapon Fighting when discussing the "if X then Y" timing, and...
  10. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    I knew I'd seen this before. Reading more of the thread, we see this: https://twitter.com/jeremyecrawford/status/995134313841676288 So yeah, he was specifically talking about bonus actions with triggers like Shield Master and Two-Weapon Fighting when discussing the "if X then Y" timing, and...
  11. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Okay, so there's a long Twitter thread about Shield Master where JEC makes a broader statement, or the PHB wording itself and the most recent Sage Advice video where he explicitly says that if the bonus action doesn't have specific timing built into it, you can take it at any time on your turn...
  12. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Okay, so there's a long Twitter thread about Shield Master where JEC makes a broader statement, or the PHB wording itself and the most recent Sage Advice video where he explicitly says that if the bonus action doesn't have specific timing built into it, you can take it at any time on your turn...
  13. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    C'mon, the context of that first tweet is important. It's about 3 tweets in on a discussion specifically about Shield Master. https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/994993596989300736 https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/994997096829804549 The reply from someone else...
  14. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    C'mon, the context of that first tweet is important. It's about 3 tweets in on a discussion specifically about Shield Master. https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/994993596989300736 https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/994997096829804549 The reply from someone else...
  15. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    I don't follow that logic. There is one bonus action where the "if X" trigger is "when you take the attack action", and that's the Shield Master shove (i.e. the "then Y" part).
  16. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    I don't follow that logic. There is one bonus action where the "if X" trigger is "when you take the attack action", and that's the Shield Master shove (i.e. the "then Y" part).
  17. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Sorry, I assumed that's why he was talking about when the Attack action ended, as that's clearly important for the Shield Master shove (and not much else AFAIK).
  18. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Sorry, I assumed that's why he was talking about when the Attack action ended, as that's clearly important for the Shield Master shove (and not much else AFAIK).
  19. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    This is addressed in the Sage Advice Compendium: Spells like Magic Missile that explicitly say they strike their target simultaneously mean you're supposed to do a single damage roll and thus apply of effects like the Wizard's Empowered Evocation and so on.
  20. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    This is addressed in the Sage Advice Compendium: Spells like Magic Missile that explicitly say they strike their target simultaneously mean you're supposed to do a single damage roll and thus apply of effects like the Wizard's Empowered Evocation and so on.
Top