Search results

  1. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    You mean the tweet that's since been deleted and corrected by many other tweets, videos and the Sage Advice Compendium itself? Sage Advice on Shield Master bonus action: https://youtu.be/ew1dc6VBHhA?t=1392 It's a finishing move: https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/994997405492772864...
  2. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    You mean the tweet that's since been deleted and corrected by many other tweets, videos and the Sage Advice Compendium itself? Sage Advice on Shield Master bonus action: https://youtu.be/ew1dc6VBHhA?t=1392 It's a finishing move: https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/994997405492772864...
  3. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    You're more than welcome to do that at your table obviously, but that's not RAW/RAI. JEC has been very clear that Shield Master's shove is intended to be a finishing move, and that 5E doesn't have an "action declaration phase". Taking the Attack action means actually making one or more...
  4. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    You're more than welcome to do that at your table obviously, but that's not RAW/RAI. JEC has been very clear that Shield Master's shove is intended to be a finishing move, and that 5E doesn't have an "action declaration phase". Taking the Attack action means actually making one or more...
  5. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Again, I'm not following your logic. There is a rule that addresses this for bonus actions: That's a specific rule that lets you take your bonus action whenever you want. I don't think this could be any simpler or clearer. Based on this rule, if I have multiple attacks from Extra Attack and...
  6. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Again, I'm not following your logic. There is a rule that addresses this for bonus actions: That's a specific rule that lets you take your bonus action whenever you want. I don't think this could be any simpler or clearer. Based on this rule, if I have multiple attacks from Extra Attack and...
  7. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    Similarly, someone talked about "interrupting" the Dodge action, which makes no sense to me. My reading of Dodge (and other similar actions) is that it's an instantaneous action that gives you an effect for the duration. So, there's nothing to interrupt -- you take the Dodge action, it...
  8. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    Similarly, someone talked about "interrupting" the Dodge action, which makes no sense to me. My reading of Dodge (and other similar actions) is that it's an instantaneous action that gives you an effect for the duration. So, there's nothing to interrupt -- you take the Dodge action, it...
  9. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    That's well within the realm of reasonable in my opinion, and so if one of my players wanted to do that, then I would absolutely let them. I prefer to just keep the combat flowing and not get bogged down with arguing about whether or not you can take the remaining Extra Attacks after the...
  10. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    That's well within the realm of reasonable in my opinion, and so if one of my players wanted to do that, then I would absolutely let them. I prefer to just keep the combat flowing and not get bogged down with arguing about whether or not you can take the remaining Extra Attacks after the...
  11. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    There's a rule that says you can move in between attacks in an Attack action. Action Surge says: I don't see any language about allowing that one additional action to take place in between attacks in an Attack action, and therefore, it isn't allowed by the RAW. Right? Bonus actions are not...
  12. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    There's a rule that says you can move in between attacks in an Attack action. Action Surge says: I don't see any language about allowing that one additional action to take place in between attacks in an Attack action, and therefore, it isn't allowed by the RAW. Right? Bonus actions are not...
  13. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    You're not taking an action in the middle of another action, you're taking a bonus action. Those are two very different things. The bonus action rule very clearly says that you get to decide when to take the bonus action on your turn, unless there are timing requirements in the bonus action...
  14. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    You're not taking an action in the middle of another action, you're taking a bonus action. Those are two very different things. The bonus action rule very clearly says that you get to decide when to take the bonus action on your turn, unless there are timing requirements in the bonus action...
  15. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    I don't follow. The rule for bonus actions is clear: you choose when to take the bonus action on your turn. JC explains in the video that you can take your bonus action at any point during your turn.
  16. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    I don't follow. The rule for bonus actions is clear: you choose when to take the bonus action on your turn. JC explains in the video that you can take your bonus action at any point during your turn.
  17. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    It's technically not RAW: https://www.sageadvice.eu/2017/01/02/can-warlock-eld-blast-aim-one-beam-at-a-target-move-20-feet-then-aim-the-2nd-beam-at-a-different-target/ https://www.sageadvice.eu/2018/01/24/can-a-caster-move-between-spells-that-allow-for-two-or-more-attacks/ But I'd work with...
  18. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    It's technically not RAW: https://www.sageadvice.eu/2017/01/02/can-warlock-eld-blast-aim-one-beam-at-a-target-move-20-feet-then-aim-the-2nd-beam-at-a-different-target/ https://www.sageadvice.eu/2018/01/24/can-a-caster-move-between-spells-that-allow-for-two-or-more-attacks/ But I'd work with...
  19. Asgorath

    Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

    No, I never said anything like that. First of all, all bolts from Magic Missile strike their targets at the same time. Based on that, it's entirely reasonable to move, cast Magic Missile, do a bonus action, and then move some more. Or, rearrange those 4 things into any order you like. The...
  20. Asgorath

    Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019

    No, I never said anything like that. First of all, all bolts from Magic Missile strike their targets at the same time. Based on that, it's entirely reasonable to move, cast Magic Missile, do a bonus action, and then move some more. Or, rearrange those 4 things into any order you like. The...
Top