+1 flaming flaming greatsword


log in or register to remove this ad

Stalker0 said:
What got changed with flaming burst?

They clarified that the extra 1d10, 2d10, 3d10, whatever, does not replace the normal 1d6 (you get with every hit) when you score a critical hit. It is in addition to, so you get all of the damage bonuses, such as +1d6 +1d10 fire.
 
Last edited:

kreynolds said:


They clarified that the extra 1d10, 2d10, 3d10, whatever, does not replace the normal 1d6 (you get with every hit) when you score a critical hit. It is in addition to, so you get all of the damage bonuses, such as +1d6 +1d10 fire.

Where's that in? Errata? FAQ?
 
Last edited:

KaeYoss said:
Where's that in? Errata? FAQ?

This is impressive! This has been asked three times in one week! LOL Yes, it's in the DMG errata, and here's a Sage reply on the topic as well...

If I get a critical hit with a burst weapon (such as flaming burst) do I deal an extra d6 and extra d10

Yes. (See the DMG Errata).
 

kreynolds said:


This is impressive! This has been asked three times in one week! LOL Yes, it's in the DMG errata, and here's a Sage reply on the topic as well...


Really?!? They finally fixed that! Last I'd heard the Sage was saying the exact opposite. Just another example of the Sage being wrong on his own rules.

Or you can combine flaming and flaming burst for 2D6 fire damage and +1D10 on critical hit for marcet price of +3.

Uh, No. Flaming Burst already counts as a Flaming weapon. So it doesnt stack, BTR. Altho I'd agree with most of the other posters and allow it.
 

I wouldn't allow like bonuses stack. No two flamings at once. Just concider for one second what could be done with keen stacking with itself (+1 keen keen keen keen vorpal scimitar anyone?? 1d6+1 6-20/x2 + decapitate. 3-20 with improved crit.)
 

Marshall said:
Last I'd heard the Sage was saying the exact opposite.

That would be news to me. Customer Service said otherwise a while back, but that's why I don't usually email Customer Service. I don't think they even report to the rules council.

Marshall said:
Just another example of the Sage being wrong on his own rules.

Nah. More like a case of "Whatchu' talkin' 'bout, Willis?" ;)

Seriously though, I'm pretty sure that CS did in fact say that the xd10 replaced the 1d6, but like I said, that's CS for ya'. :cool:
 

KaeYoss said:
I wouldn't allow like bonuses stack. No two flamings at once. Just concider for one second what could be done with keen stacking with itself (+1 keen keen keen keen vorpal scimitar anyone?? 1d6+1 6-20/x2 + decapitate. 3-20 with improved crit.)
I whole-heartedly second that.
 

kreynolds said:


That would be news to me. Customer Service said otherwise a while back, but that's why I don't usually email Customer Service. I don't think they even report to the rules council.

The Sage did in fact say that the +1d10 replaced the +1d6 on a crit, when I first e-mailed him about it over a year ago.

Here is a website that confirms this: http://homepage.mac.com/guyf/DnD/DnDRulesFAQ.html

The author of the page didn't like the answer I received, and e-mailed the Sage several more times, but wasn't able to get him to change his mind.

Apparently the Sage did eventually change his mind, perhaps due to the DMG errata.

Nah. More like a case of "Whatchu' talkin' 'bout, Willis?" ;)

No, this is a case of the Sage reversing his answer when asked the same question at a later date. This seems to happen sometimes when there is a lot of time between the repeated questions. I've only seen it happen about 2 or 3 times though.

In this case I believe I asked him before the DMG was errata'd, and you asked him after the DMG was errata'd.
 
Last edited:

KaeYoss said:
I wouldn't allow like bonuses stack. No two flamings at once. Just concider for one second what could be done with keen stacking with itself (+1 keen keen keen keen vorpal scimitar anyone?? 1d6+1 6-20/x2 + decapitate. 3-20 with improved crit.)


Anything you can hit with a 3 deserves to have its head lopped off. ;)
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top