"+1 level of existing arcane spellcasting class"

calypso15 said:
From the Eldritch Knight class: [examples snipped]
And yet Archmage has:
The SRD said:
Spells per Day/Spells Known: When a new archmage level is gained, the character gains new spells per day (and spells known, if applicable) as if he had also gained a level in whatever arcane spellcasting class in which he could cast 7th-level spells before he added the prestige class level. He does not, however, gain any other benefit a character of that class would have gained. If a character had more than one arcane spellcasting class in which he could cast 7th-level spells before he became an archmage, he must decide to which class he adds each level of archmage for the purpose of determining spells per day.
No mention of caster level. Seems like it varies from PrC to PrC.

EDIT: Unless the lines you quote are in the PHB accidentally dropped from the SRD. IDNHMBIFOM!


glass.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Yep, some of them don't say it explicitly. Note that there is also the general:

"Caster Level

Generally equal to the number of class levels (see below) in a spellcasting class. Some prestige classes add caster levels to an existing class. "

Calypso
 

Kheti sa-Menik said:
"+1 level of existing arcane spellcasting class"

The book entires that detail this class ability for PrCs that have it indicates that spells per day and, if applicable, spells known increase as if you had taken another level in your previous spellcasting class.
Does this mean that your caster level doesn't increase?
That a wizard doesn't get the two additional spells per level to add to their spell book?


I wondered about this, so I checked CWar, CDiv etc to look at the entries for their +1 spellcaster level PrCs.

I noticed that in the first book to be released, CWar, the entries were rather vague as to whether the PrC got new spells added to the spellbook etc. However, the books which followed were more precisely worded, and indicated that PrC did get these benefits.

I'm guessing that this issue must have been raised after CWar was released, and the wording was made more explicit. In which case it's not surprising that the DMG PrC entries are vague. The 3.0 FAQ supports the idea that this has ben the intention all along.
 

Kheti sa-Menik said:
"+1 level of existing arcane spellcasting class"

The book entires that detail this class ability for PrCs that have it indicates that spells per day and, if applicable, spells known increase as if you had taken another level in your previous spellcasting class.
Does this mean that your caster level doesn't increase?
That a wizard doesn't get the two additional spells per level to add to their spell book?
It's implicit in that the PrCs provide an increase in level to a spellcasting class. Although since there is some confusion here, it could be made more obvious I suppose.

What's the caster level of a 6th lvl wizard?

What's the caster level of a 6th lvl wizard + 1 lvl of arcane spellcasting?
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top