+1 returning harpoons - broken?

So, returning weapons "flies through the air back to the creature that threw it. It returns to the thrower just before the creature's next turn."

And a harpoon, if it deals damage, "lodges in an opponent who fails a Reflex saving throw (DC 10 + the damage dealt). . . . The harpooned creature can pull the harpoon from its wound if it has two free hands and takes a full-round action to do so, but it deals damage to itself equal to the initial damage the harpoon dealt."

So if I throw a returning harpoon into a dragon, and do 30 damage, does the harpoon rip itself out for 30 more damage, or does it yank the dragon to the ground?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I see two options.

1) Returning weapons magically remove themselves and fly back perfectly peacefully.

2) Yes, it does do the extra damage, because it would take cheese on that level to make throwing weapons a viable option.
 

I think the being-stuck-in-something would probably trump the returning ability. I'm not sure there's a real strong argument either way as far as actual rules support goes.

A returning harpoon under this ruling would still be semi-useful, because it would still return on a miss.
 

I'd say that being lodged in an opponent would prevent the weapon from returning, or that it returns but without dealing extra damage.
 



Felnar said:
oh quit ruining RangerWickett's fun :)

what book are harpoons from?
Stormwrack i think

Harpoon Exotic ranged
15 gp
1d8 Small
1d10 Medium
x2
30 ft.
10 lb.
P
SW 107

Harpoon: The harpoon is a broad−bladed spear forged with barbs. The shaft of the harpoon has a trailing rope attached to the control harpooned creatures. Though designed for hunting whales and other large sea creatures, the harpoon can be used on dry land.
If it deals damage, the harpoon lodges in an opponent who fails a Reflex saving throw (DC 10 + the damage dealt). A harpooned crea−ture moves at only half speed and cannot charge or run. If you control the trailing rope by succeeding on an opposed Strength check while holding it, the harpooned creature can move only within the limits that the rope allows (the trailing rope is 30 feet long). If the harpooned creature attempts to cast a spell, it must succeed on a DC 15 Concentration check or lose the spell.

The harpooned creature can pull the harpoon from its wound if it has two free hands and takes a full−round action to do so, but it deals damage to itself equal to the initial damage the harpoon dealt. A character who succeeds on a DC 15 Heal check can remove a harpoon without further damage.
 


I'd allow it to return and do the extra damage. But only because it's balanced, and interesting. The rules as written don't cover this situation well.
 

IMC returning weapons don't return if someone picks them up. Being lodged in someone counts to me as being hold by someone else. No return.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top