Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
NOW LIVE! Today's the day you meet your new best friend. You don’t have to leave Wolfy behind... In 'Pets & Sidekicks' your companions level up with you!
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
20th level Sorcerer vs the world
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="nogray" data-source="post: 8189321" data-attributes="member: 28028"><p>Here, I am replying to various topics, so I have broken them into their own spoiler blocks. (If this is annoying, let me know. I just like a post with a smaller footprint, so I enclose things in blocks.)</p><p></p><p>On Polymorph, True Polymorph, and one difference therebetween:</p><p>(TL;DR: [USER=7019463]@Hohige[/USER] is wrong about what you can do while in a form granted by Polymorph. I give justifications and quotes.)</p><p>[spoiler]</p><p></p><p></p><p>Yes, Trax is a valid choice. I never said it wasn't.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>That you're wrong? Ayup. That is clear as water. RTFM on Polymorph.</p><p></p><p>"The creature <strong>is limited</strong> in the actions it can perform (1) <strong>by the nature of its new form, and</strong> (2) <strong>it can't speak, cast spells, or take any other action that requires hands or speech.</strong>"</p><p></p><p>No qualifiers at all, just two restrictions on your actions. Under the base polymorph spell, a creature can't, "speak, cast spells, or take any other action that requires hands or speech," at all. Ever. This is in addition to its being, "limited . . . by the nature of its new form." Both limitations apply. If a creature is polymorphed into a hypothetical talking fish that has hands but no land speed and can't breathe air (but has a swim speed and can breathe underwater), it has the following restrictions:</p><ul> <li data-xf-list-type="ul">It can't move on the land. It is limited by the nature of its new form to be unable to move on the land.</li> <li data-xf-list-type="ul">It can move in the water with a swim speed. That's probably why it wanted to be a fish in the first place.</li> <li data-xf-list-type="ul">It can breathe underwater. That's probably why it wanted to be a fish in the first place, too.</li> <li data-xf-list-type="ul">It can't breathe air. It is limited by the nature of its new form.</li> <li data-xf-list-type="ul">It can't speak. The polymorph spell says without any qualification, ". . . and it can't speak." Even though the talky-fish can, someone polymorphed into the talky-fish cannot. Why? The polymorph spell says so.</li> <li data-xf-list-type="ul">It can't use its hands. The polymorph spell says without any qualification that it can't, ". . . take any other action that requires hands." Even though the handsy-fish can, someone polymorphed into the handsy-fish can't. Why? The polymorph spell says so.</li> </ul><p>Compare that to the True Polymorph spell, which adds to the end of that very same sentence the phrase, ". . . and it can't speak, cast spells, or take any other action that requires hands or speech, <strong>unless its new form is capable of such actions</strong>." Taking the same talky-handsy-fishy example from above:</p><ul> <li data-xf-list-type="ul">It can't move on the land. It is limited by the nature of its new form to be unable to move on the land.</li> <li data-xf-list-type="ul">It can move in the water with a swim speed. That's probably why it wanted to be a fish in the first place.</li> <li data-xf-list-type="ul">It can breathe underwater. That's probably why it wanted to be a fish in the first place, too.</li> <li data-xf-list-type="ul">It can't breathe air. It is limited by the nature of its new form.</li> <li data-xf-list-type="ul">It <strong>can</strong> speak. The true polymorph spell says it can't speak, "unless its new form is capable of such actions." Since the talky-fish can talk, so can someone true-polymorphed into a talky-fish.</li> <li data-xf-list-type="ul">It <strong>can</strong> use its hands. The true polymorph spell says it can't take any action that requires its hands, "unless its new form is capable of such actions." Since the handsy-fish can use its hands for actions, so can someone true-polymorphed into a handsy-fish.</li> </ul><p>It's simple reading comprehension. The Polymorph spell does not allow talking, casting spells, or the taking of any action that requires hands or speech, regardless of whether the assumed form has these capabilities. It also limits you to taking actions according to the nature of your new form. The True Polymorph spell relaxes the restriction on speaking and using hands (and casting spells) through that additional phrase; it is limited only by the nature of the new form. [/spoiler]</p><p></p><p>On Initiative, and the determination thereof:</p><p>(TL;DR: I mostly ignore the strawman "example" that [USER=7019463]@Hohige[/USER] used and give a description of how I would play out a hidden ambusher approaching a target with the Alert feat. I ask other posters to weigh in, if they are so inclined.)</p><p>[spoiler]</p><p></p><p></p><p>You're allowed to be wrong. RAW and RAI, wrong. Almost fractally wrong, at this point.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>In no case can only one side be involved in a combat. The sorcerer is trying to cast a hostile spell. This triggers initiative. Period. Whether or not there is surprise governs who can act on those initiative counts. It's the rules.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>I'd rather not.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Banal strawman example aside, how 5e works is like this:</p><p></p><p><strong>1. Determine surprise.</strong></p><p>DM (to Sorcerer): The target is <here, doing this>. Do you want to <do the ambush> or <wait for circumstances to change>?</p><p>Sorcerer: This is fine. When I am <at whatever range>, I cast <whatever hostile spell>.</p><p>DM (to herself): Okay, so Target has the Alert feat, and Sorcerer is aware of Target, so there is no surprise round.</p><p><strong>2. Establish positions.</strong></p><p>DM (to Sorcerer): The Target is <here>, and these are the things that can provide concealment as you approach <sketches or describes the foliage or whatever>. Where do you want to be?</p><p>Sorcerer: I'll be here, behind this clump of bushes.</p><p>DM (to Sorcerer): Sounds fine.</p><p><strong>3. Roll initiative.</strong></p><p>DM (to Sorcerer and Target): Roll initiative.</p><p>Target: Do I see anything?</p><p>DM: You don't, but you feel <hostile intent or magic focused on you, or "the hairs on the back of your neck stand on end," or whatever else works for the character and why they have the Alert feat, including how it has been RP'd in the past>. If it wasn't for your Alert feat, this would be a surprise round.</p><p>Target: Okay. <rolls: beats Sorcerer (for example)></p><p><strong>4. Take turns.</strong></p><p>DM (to target): What do you do?</p><p>Target: Since I'm on the ground, here, and don't see anything, I . . .</p><p></p><p>. . . and what follows depends on how that character tends to react to ambushes, or how he reacts in this situation, given what that character knows. A fighter would likely either ready an action to attack or use their action to search. A rogue might dive for cover and enter stealth himself. A wizard might Dimension Door straight up 500 ft (with his ranged Warlock party member), casting Feather Fall as a reaction. The new perspective might invalidate whatever concealment you are using (if it was, for example, low-growth bushes or rocks you were hiding behind), thus exposing your Sorcerer by no longer having concealment. (I think this triggers your Contingency, if it hasn't already been triggered when that squirrel to which you got too close saw you with an unobstructed line of sight, so they would only briefly see you before you went improved invisible.)</p><p></p><p>Now, where did I go wrong? Everything is there, step-by-step by the book. At no point did anyone come to know exactly where you were or anything. (You are still hidden, after all.) There was no metagaming. Everyone got to use their feats and features. All the rules were followed. Seems legit to me. Maybe [USER=7016699]@prabe[/USER] or [USER=42856]@Galandris[/USER] or [USER=16814]@Ovinomancer[/USER] could weigh in on that description. [/spoiler]</p><p></p><p>On what might be noticable, even when invisible:</p><p>(TL;DR: Here, I contemplate how something can "feel compelled" to follow a mental command, yet not be aware that there is a compulsion.)</p><p>[spoiler]</p><p></p><p>and</p><p></p><p></p><p>In short, yes. Hostile to the mental message, <em>especially one that they feel compelled to obey</em>. That sort of compulsion is intolerable to these kinds of entities. That compulsion to follow that mental message? It's noticeable. It is a perceivable effect of the spell. In a D&D world, don't just think of the senses humans have. It would be a DC 20 Arcana check to identify exactly what that compulsion is, in fact.</p><p></p><p>I'm not saying that the mentioned entities would successfully make that check, but there is a noticeable effect of <em>being compelled to follow an order</em> (received via noticeable telepathic command/speech), to which each of them would be hostile. That's why Planar Binding usually involves making a bargain with the bound entity. (Well, that's one reason. The other is <em>fun</em>. It's more fun to RP bargaining with something or accepting the risk of its hostility than to just play like a computer game with static inputs and outputs. In my experience, anyway.) [/spoiler]</p><p></p><p>I am still waiting (and others might be, too, though I would imagine that any interest is waning) on a legal build for one of your Bois. Is one forthcoming? None on the front page are, as of this posting, legal characters. Since you've been asked multiple times, with the errors pointed out, can I assume that you are unable to provide such a legal build?</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="nogray, post: 8189321, member: 28028"] Here, I am replying to various topics, so I have broken them into their own spoiler blocks. (If this is annoying, let me know. I just like a post with a smaller footprint, so I enclose things in blocks.) On Polymorph, True Polymorph, and one difference therebetween: (TL;DR: [USER=7019463]@Hohige[/USER] is wrong about what you can do while in a form granted by Polymorph. I give justifications and quotes.) [spoiler] Yes, Trax is a valid choice. I never said it wasn't. That you're wrong? Ayup. That is clear as water. RTFM on Polymorph. "The creature [B]is limited[/B] in the actions it can perform (1) [B]by the nature of its new form, and[/B] (2) [B]it can't speak, cast spells, or take any other action that requires hands or speech.[/B]" No qualifiers at all, just two restrictions on your actions. Under the base polymorph spell, a creature can't, "speak, cast spells, or take any other action that requires hands or speech," at all. Ever. This is in addition to its being, "limited . . . by the nature of its new form." Both limitations apply. If a creature is polymorphed into a hypothetical talking fish that has hands but no land speed and can't breathe air (but has a swim speed and can breathe underwater), it has the following restrictions: [LIST] [*]It can't move on the land. It is limited by the nature of its new form to be unable to move on the land. [*]It can move in the water with a swim speed. That's probably why it wanted to be a fish in the first place. [*]It can breathe underwater. That's probably why it wanted to be a fish in the first place, too. [*]It can't breathe air. It is limited by the nature of its new form. [*]It can't speak. The polymorph spell says without any qualification, ". . . and it can't speak." Even though the talky-fish can, someone polymorphed into the talky-fish cannot. Why? The polymorph spell says so. [*]It can't use its hands. The polymorph spell says without any qualification that it can't, ". . . take any other action that requires hands." Even though the handsy-fish can, someone polymorphed into the handsy-fish can't. Why? The polymorph spell says so. [/LIST] Compare that to the True Polymorph spell, which adds to the end of that very same sentence the phrase, ". . . and it can't speak, cast spells, or take any other action that requires hands or speech, [B]unless its new form is capable of such actions[/B]." Taking the same talky-handsy-fishy example from above: [LIST] [*]It can't move on the land. It is limited by the nature of its new form to be unable to move on the land. [*]It can move in the water with a swim speed. That's probably why it wanted to be a fish in the first place. [*]It can breathe underwater. That's probably why it wanted to be a fish in the first place, too. [*]It can't breathe air. It is limited by the nature of its new form. [*]It [B]can[/B] speak. The true polymorph spell says it can't speak, "unless its new form is capable of such actions." Since the talky-fish can talk, so can someone true-polymorphed into a talky-fish. [*]It [B]can[/B] use its hands. The true polymorph spell says it can't take any action that requires its hands, "unless its new form is capable of such actions." Since the handsy-fish can use its hands for actions, so can someone true-polymorphed into a handsy-fish. [/LIST] It's simple reading comprehension. The Polymorph spell does not allow talking, casting spells, or the taking of any action that requires hands or speech, regardless of whether the assumed form has these capabilities. It also limits you to taking actions according to the nature of your new form. The True Polymorph spell relaxes the restriction on speaking and using hands (and casting spells) through that additional phrase; it is limited only by the nature of the new form. [/spoiler] On Initiative, and the determination thereof: (TL;DR: I mostly ignore the strawman "example" that [USER=7019463]@Hohige[/USER] used and give a description of how I would play out a hidden ambusher approaching a target with the Alert feat. I ask other posters to weigh in, if they are so inclined.) [spoiler] You're allowed to be wrong. RAW and RAI, wrong. Almost fractally wrong, at this point. In no case can only one side be involved in a combat. The sorcerer is trying to cast a hostile spell. This triggers initiative. Period. Whether or not there is surprise governs who can act on those initiative counts. It's the rules. I'd rather not. Banal strawman example aside, how 5e works is like this: [B]1. Determine surprise.[/B] DM (to Sorcerer): The target is <here, doing this>. Do you want to <do the ambush> or <wait for circumstances to change>? Sorcerer: This is fine. When I am <at whatever range>, I cast <whatever hostile spell>. DM (to herself): Okay, so Target has the Alert feat, and Sorcerer is aware of Target, so there is no surprise round. [B]2. Establish positions.[/B] DM (to Sorcerer): The Target is <here>, and these are the things that can provide concealment as you approach <sketches or describes the foliage or whatever>. Where do you want to be? Sorcerer: I'll be here, behind this clump of bushes. DM (to Sorcerer): Sounds fine. [B]3. Roll initiative.[/B] DM (to Sorcerer and Target): Roll initiative. Target: Do I see anything? DM: You don't, but you feel <hostile intent or magic focused on you, or "the hairs on the back of your neck stand on end," or whatever else works for the character and why they have the Alert feat, including how it has been RP'd in the past>. If it wasn't for your Alert feat, this would be a surprise round. Target: Okay. <rolls: beats Sorcerer (for example)> [B]4. Take turns.[/B] DM (to target): What do you do? Target: Since I'm on the ground, here, and don't see anything, I . . . . . . and what follows depends on how that character tends to react to ambushes, or how he reacts in this situation, given what that character knows. A fighter would likely either ready an action to attack or use their action to search. A rogue might dive for cover and enter stealth himself. A wizard might Dimension Door straight up 500 ft (with his ranged Warlock party member), casting Feather Fall as a reaction. The new perspective might invalidate whatever concealment you are using (if it was, for example, low-growth bushes or rocks you were hiding behind), thus exposing your Sorcerer by no longer having concealment. (I think this triggers your Contingency, if it hasn't already been triggered when that squirrel to which you got too close saw you with an unobstructed line of sight, so they would only briefly see you before you went improved invisible.) Now, where did I go wrong? Everything is there, step-by-step by the book. At no point did anyone come to know exactly where you were or anything. (You are still hidden, after all.) There was no metagaming. Everyone got to use their feats and features. All the rules were followed. Seems legit to me. Maybe [USER=7016699]@prabe[/USER] or [USER=42856]@Galandris[/USER] or [USER=16814]@Ovinomancer[/USER] could weigh in on that description. [/spoiler] On what might be noticable, even when invisible: (TL;DR: Here, I contemplate how something can "feel compelled" to follow a mental command, yet not be aware that there is a compulsion.) [spoiler] and In short, yes. Hostile to the mental message, [I]especially one that they feel compelled to obey[/I]. That sort of compulsion is intolerable to these kinds of entities. That compulsion to follow that mental message? It's noticeable. It is a perceivable effect of the spell. In a D&D world, don't just think of the senses humans have. It would be a DC 20 Arcana check to identify exactly what that compulsion is, in fact. I'm not saying that the mentioned entities would successfully make that check, but there is a noticeable effect of [I]being compelled to follow an order[/I] (received via noticeable telepathic command/speech), to which each of them would be hostile. That's why Planar Binding usually involves making a bargain with the bound entity. (Well, that's one reason. The other is [I]fun[/I]. It's more fun to RP bargaining with something or accepting the risk of its hostility than to just play like a computer game with static inputs and outputs. In my experience, anyway.) [/spoiler] I am still waiting (and others might be, too, though I would imagine that any interest is waning) on a legal build for one of your Bois. Is one forthcoming? None on the front page are, as of this posting, legal characters. Since you've been asked multiple times, with the errors pointed out, can I assume that you are unable to provide such a legal build? [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
20th level Sorcerer vs the world
Top