3.0 Combat Basics questions

sjmiller

Explorer
In the 3.0 SRD in the Combat Basics section there is a subsection titled The Combat Round. In there it states:
There are no simultaneous actions. All effects of a character's action fully resolve before the next character acts. A character cannot split an action to allow another character to act between portions.
Is this text actually in one of the 3.0 core books? Specifically the line about no simultaneous actions. One of my players was whining this last weekend obout how all the actions of a round are simultaneous and that Initiative is just used to give an order. So, for example, if Player#1 attacks and kills Monster#B that monster should not fall to the ground until the end of the round, so that other players must commit actions toward this monster.

I've said no to this, because frankly I do not see it that way. He insists that I have been misreading the combat rules. Frankly, I cannot find anywhere in the rules where it even comes close to saying things happen simultaneously. I did find the above quote in the SRD, so I am hoping someone can point me to the same statement in the actual PH (or DMG).

Thanks!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I believe the text is being misapplied.

Specifically, everything that happens during a round is happening more or less simultaneously from a cinematic perspective.

As in, the fighter doesn't move up to the wizard, swing once, and then sit around for 6 seconds while the wizard backs off and casts a spell, etc.

Cinematically, the fighter charges the wizard, swinging his sword about, while the wizard rolls out of the way, lobbing a fireball over his head to scorch the orcs behind him, etc. It's all simultaneous.

Mechanically, no action is ever resolved mid-die roll through another action. One thing always happens before another. An AoO mechanically takes place before the action that inspired it, even though cinematically it takes place simultaneously.

From a recent thread, an action readied to disrupt spellcasting looks mechanically like:

Wizard: "..."
Archer: *shoots an arrow, hits*
Wizard: *makes Concentration check, pulls components, points* "Calabraxes zathra!"
Crackling Evil Ray: *arcs to archer*
Archer: *dissolves in a puddle of goo*

Cinematically, however, it looks like:

Wizard: *pulls components, points* "Calabraxes ..."
Archer: *shoots an arrow, hits*
Wizard: *makes Concentration check, maintains point* " ... zathra!"
Crackling Evil Ray: *arcs to archer*
Archer: *dissolves in a puddle of goo*

EDIT:

Also, check your DMG. There's a section in there discussing Tordek the dwarf triggering a trap during combat, and when in the round the DM should apply the effects.

I believe the section is called, "Simultaneous Actions." :)
 

sjmiller said:
Is this text actually in one of the 3.0 core books?

Perhaps not, but nonetheless, your interpretation is correct and your player's is wrong. D&D 3.0 has no requirement to "declare" your actions in advance of the round being resolved. Some examples from the 3.0 core books:

- PHB "How Combat Works" (p. 115-118): In sample combat, no cases of DM asking for prior declarations at the start of a round.
- PHB "Combat Sequence" (p. 118): No step for action declarations at start of round.
- PHB "Full Attack" (p. 124): "Essentially, you can decide whether to take the normal attack action or the full attack action depending on how the first attack turns out."
- DMG "Simultaneity" (p. 62): DM can "sometimes... impose ad hoc simultaneity" for specific, unusual events.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top