5-foot step (3.0)

Winternight

First Post
We had this weekend a small discussion about 5-foot steps.

two players p & q are attacking a monster M,
they flank it.

...|...|...|...|x
...|...|...|...|x
...| p | M| q |x
...|...|...|...|x

each "| |"is one 5 foot grid no horizontal lines
x - wall
Now Monster does a 5-foot step to avoid beeing flanked:
...|...|...|...|x
...|...|.M.|...|x
...|.p.|...|.q.|x
...|...|...|...|x
p is first does a 5-foot step too Monster isn`t consider flanked
but after q (doing a 5-foot step) monster is flanked
...|...|...|...|x
...|.p.|.M.|.q.|x
...|...|...|...|x
...|...|...|...|x

Now being a smart monster M is doing another 5-foot step
...|...|...|...|x
...|...|...|.M.|x
...|.p.|...|.q.|x
...|...|...|...|x
...|...|...|...|x
It would take two rounds for p to compensate this.
But is this really a 5 foot step, or are that two by Monster M?
May you step diagonally?

Haven't seen any rules regarding stepping diagonally. Neither pro or Contra,

Thanx for help.

BTW
My English is as bad as my ASCII-Art, but why is it 5 FOOT step and not 5 FEET step?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

There isnt any rule AGAINST it, so, yes, you can 5-foot step diagonally, IMO. In your example, the Monster doesn't have to wait till 2nd round to 5-foot step diagonally.

Also, the way your example finishes, player P can still go flank monster M (he'll probably pass through his threat space, and thus provoke an AoO unless he can tumble) by taking a move action. Of course, player P will be limited to a single attack, which is better than not attacking at all. Player Q (if he acts first) could ready his action to attack monster M once player P gets into flanking position. Of course, since you can only ready partial actions, player Q will only be able to make 1 (flanked) attack.

Hope this helps

As for the way English works, I think it has something to do woth adjectives always staying singular. "5-foot" in the phrase "5-foot step" characterizes the step. You don't say "reds dragons", you say "red dragons". You don't say "5-feet step", you say "5-foot step".

Of course, there are linguists here that will be able to provide a much better answer, English not being my maternal language.

Maitre D
 

Winternight said:
May you step diagonally?

Yes. Your first diagonal is 5 feet. Your second is 10 feet. Your third is 5 feet. Your fourth is 10 feet. Rinse and repeat. Of course, if all you move in your round is one diagonal square, then its always 5 feet. The 5-10-5 doesn't apply unless you move continuously during your round.
 
Last edited:

Re: Re: 5-foot step (3.0)

kreynolds said:


Yes. Your first diagonal is 5 feet. Your second is 10 feet. Your third is 5 feet. Your fourth is 10 feet. Rinse and repeat.

That applies for all your movement in ONE round, correct?

Maitre D
 



Thanx for Re: 5-foot step (3.0)

kreynolds said:


Yes. Your first diagonal is 5 feet. Your second is 10 feet. Your third is 5 feet. Your fourth is 10 feet. Rinse and repeat. Of course, if all you move in your round is one diagonal square, then its always 5 feet. The 5-10-5 doesn't apply unless you move continuously during your round.
Would like to see were this rule is written.
Not that i don't belive it or I don't like it, I just want to know were i have overlooked it.

@maitre
shure to both: just used it to make my point
to 5foot vs 5feet sounds coherent, but then English isn`t coherent - there must be an other explanation
 

Re: Thanx for Re: 5-foot step (3.0)

Winternight said:
Would like to see were this rule is written.
Not that i don't belive it or I don't like it, I just want to know were i have overlooked it.

It's not in the 3.0 core rulebooks.
- It is in the FAQ.
- It was used to develop the spell areas on DMG p. 68-69.
- It is incorporated into the 3.5 core rulebooks.
 


I couldn't find it in my books, or in the FAQ. I was pretty sure I had read that all diagonals in a move after the first were 10'. Now I don't know where I heard this, and I can't find the 'official' ruling. Oy.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top