• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

A New DM'ing situation, advice wanted *now with excerpt from setting*

jayaint

First Post
I am starting a play-by-email game with ONE and only one PC. I am running the game. I am an okay writer, creative, yadda-da yadd-da, and I don't mind typing alot.

As far as gaming goes though, are there good resources somewhere for a dice roller, that will post the results in an email or a forum-post? I want this game to be very storytelling based, to start... but eventually, combat, skill checks, etc will arise.

Any ideas? On any factor of this style of game? Any 1-on-1 tips for DM's? Things to avoid? etc etc

=jay

Last edited:

Meadred

First Post
I would suggest taking a look at PBeMNexus <http://www.pbemnexus.com/>. I ran a PBeM-campaign with three players about two years ago, and we used PBeMNexus a lot to generate all sorts of dice rolls. It will send you an e-mail with the results. It worked well for our campaign.

Cheers,
Meadred

Re: PBMB

I run four message board games. Is your player on board with the storytelling aspect? If so, why even bother with the die roller? My players only use it for their hit points, and that's only a couple. All of them have voted to not see rolls so it enhances the immersion factor. So instead of taking time clicking through a server to read an email, I carry a d20 and a d6 in my pocket, and do the rolls on my desk. The chances of your needing to revisit prior numbers is also vanishingly slim. I've had a couple of questions come up in the middle of a fight, but the numbers were there on my pocket cheat sheet so I could answer the player.

Good luck with your game!

jayaint

First Post
Its play by email. Though It could be set up on a board similar to this as the player is a computer guru-type. Is one inherently better than the other?