A question of Two Weapon Fighting

Prof Yeti

First Post
I apologize if this has already been asked but I couldn't find anything when I searched.

I have a character who is about to reach 3rd level and his 2nd level as a Ranger. He wants to take Over-Sized Two Weapon Fighting (for his 3rd lvl feat) but I am unsure if it is legal. Since the only reason he will have TWF is because it is a class feature of the Ranger. The way the DM and I are figuring is that as long as I am wearing light or No armor I should be fine. But I wanted to get some other input.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

If the problem is that Over-Sized TWF (never heard of the feat before, btw) has TWF as a prerequisite, then it's legal. A 2nd level ranger with the TWF style has TWF.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
If the problem is that Over-Sized TWF (never heard of the feat before, btw) has TWF as a prerequisite, then it's legal. A 2nd level ranger with the TWF style has TWF.

But only when wearing light or no armor.
 

SRD: A character can gain a feat at the same level at which he or she gains the prerequisite.


So the question is... 'is treated as having' a feat good enough to qualify it as a prereq.


As DM, I'd say yes. But if the character loses the prereq (like wearing heavy armor) he'd also lose the dependant feat.
 

This has been thoroughly discussed (not your fault for not reading hundreds of pages of posts to find it though). They definitely count as prerequisites for other feats. However, if you do something to lose access to the feat (such as wearing heavy armor), you lose access to the feats that require that feat.

I believe this is the official ruling (not just general consensus), though I can't point you to a page number or FAQ offhand.

-The Souljourner
 

Souljourner has it right.

If you have the feat, even if only under cetrain circumstances, you can select any feats that require it, but only use them in situations where you can use the required feet.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top