Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Absorb Elements, Shield Master, and Reactions for Saves
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Mistwell" data-source="post: 7854284" data-attributes="member: 2525"><p>You can't. I mean I suppose you can say whatever you want, but neither effect can be used prior to rolling the dice so you're talking a house rule there. You literally are not allowed to use either feature at the point you're insisting you must declare your use of the feature.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>When a creature leaves your threatened space you do not have to declare intent prior to the DM saying they're leaving your threatened space. You declare when the trigger happens (they're leaving) and not before. That is an example he gave. You never declare intent prior to a trigger. I think you might be confusing this with a Readied Action - the only time you do declare prior to a trigger.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Ah, you're confused about the trigger. The trigger is not the rolling of the dice - that's the action (reaction)you're taking, not the thing which triggered that action. The trigger IS the DM saying "they are moving away from you" because the movement is the trigger, not the dice roll.</p><p></p><p>In the instance of absorb elements and shield master, the triggers both come after the dice are rolled, not before. The trigger in this instance IS the dice being rolled, unlike the opportunity attack which is the movement and not the dice.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>You can't. Or rather, that's not how the rule is stated. You're not supposed to declare intent on a reaction until after a triggering opportunity, other than with a readied action.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>But the shield spell is only tiggered by a roll. You specifically CAN'T declare/cast prior to the roll. It's right there in the spell description. Why are you using a different standard for Absorb Elements and Shield Master than the one you're using for the Shield spell? It makes no sense - you JUST proved the point you're arguing against, that you declare after a roll!</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Mistwell, post: 7854284, member: 2525"] You can't. I mean I suppose you can say whatever you want, but neither effect can be used prior to rolling the dice so you're talking a house rule there. You literally are not allowed to use either feature at the point you're insisting you must declare your use of the feature. When a creature leaves your threatened space you do not have to declare intent prior to the DM saying they're leaving your threatened space. You declare when the trigger happens (they're leaving) and not before. That is an example he gave. You never declare intent prior to a trigger. I think you might be confusing this with a Readied Action - the only time you do declare prior to a trigger. Ah, you're confused about the trigger. The trigger is not the rolling of the dice - that's the action (reaction)you're taking, not the thing which triggered that action. The trigger IS the DM saying "they are moving away from you" because the movement is the trigger, not the dice roll. In the instance of absorb elements and shield master, the triggers both come after the dice are rolled, not before. The trigger in this instance IS the dice being rolled, unlike the opportunity attack which is the movement and not the dice. You can't. Or rather, that's not how the rule is stated. You're not supposed to declare intent on a reaction until after a triggering opportunity, other than with a readied action. But the shield spell is only tiggered by a roll. You specifically CAN'T declare/cast prior to the roll. It's right there in the spell description. Why are you using a different standard for Absorb Elements and Shield Master than the one you're using for the Shield spell? It makes no sense - you JUST proved the point you're arguing against, that you declare after a roll! [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Absorb Elements, Shield Master, and Reactions for Saves
Top