Adventure:-- LPNN (Manzanita Judging)

Rystil Arden said:
(OOC: Zaeryl summons another construct, mostly the same as before, but this time he pays 1d8 of his 10 temporary hit points to increase the duration to 2 rounds.

Note: The first construct is still active for one more round to fulfill its 1 round duration--if it poofed now, it would not have lasted an entire round (being effectively instantaneous instead), so it will poof directly after its next attack)

1 round summons only attack once, not twice.

Round X: start Summon Monster spell.
Round X+1: End Summon Monster spell, SM appears and can act. Including full attack, or charge or whatever.
Round X+2: SM disappears. It's been around precisely 1 round. It moved, attacked, whatever.

Since the first Astral Projection already charged, it poofs away (unless it's duration is 2 rounds, which I don't think it is).

*please advise and correct me if I'm wrong*
 

log in or register to remove this ad

(OOC: I'm fairly sure it gets an attack immediately on your turn and then another attack for its 1 round duration, after which it immediately poofs, but the wording in the PH is ambiguous (however, if it poofs immediately after its first attack, which occurs on the caster's turn just as it is summoned, that would make it instantaneous). Also, from a balance perspective, you could compare Summon Monster I, with its full-round casting time etc, to Magic Missile or Lesser Orb of Acid. Either way is fine with me, I suppose, its just that this is the way I've always seen it done (and obviously I'd be happy to have them stick around a bit longer if possible ;)))
 

(OOC: Hmm...another interesting note: Apparently, the line that appears in Astral Construct stating "The astral construct acts normally on the last round of the power's duration and dissipates at the end of its turn" which leads to my reading is not present in Summon Monster. Hmm...)
 

Rystil Arden said:
(OOC: Hmm...another interesting note: Apparently, the line that appears in Astral Construct stating "The astral construct acts normally on the last round of the power's duration and dissipates at the end of its turn" which leads to my reading is not present in Summon Monster. Hmm...)

OOC: The current 1 round construct has a single round that is both it's first and last. ;) two is correct, the construct would last 2 rounds (well, not quite, but it would act twice, and you only act once in a round) if you use what you're suggesting.
 

Xael said:
OOC: The current 1 round construct has a single round that is both it's first and last. ;) two is correct, the construct would last 2 rounds (well, not quite, but it would act twice, and you only act once in a round) if you use what you're suggesting.
(OOC: In the case of your interpretation (summoned-attack-instapoof all at once), then it does not have a one round duration--its instantaneous. Two and I both agree (I think--not sure, so I apologise if I'm misinterpreting him) that the 1 round duration indicates that the construct will last until the next round--I think the question is whether it gets to attack)
 

Rystil Arden said:
(OOC: In the case of your interpretation (summoned-attack-instapoof all at once), then it does not have a one round duration--its instantaneous. Two and I both agree (I think--not sure, so I apologise if I'm misinterpreting him) that the 1 round duration indicates that the construct will last until the next round--I think the question is whether it gets to attack)

OOC: Huh? The construct stays exactly one round in my interpretation. It is summoned, attacks, and disappears at the start of summoner's next initiative. It doesn't get to attack second time, because the caster acts before it and it disappears on caster's initiative.

Whatever, I'm confused... :p
 

OOC: Huh? The construct stays exactly one round in my interpretation. It is summoned, attacks, and disappears at the start of summoner's next initiative. It doesn't get to attack second time, because the caster acts before it and it disappears on caster's initiative.
(OOC: Ah, well as per Astral Construct:
SRD said:
The astral construct acts normally on the last round of the power's duration and dissipates at the end of its turn
So you either have to say it disappears instantaneously or agree that it gets its attacks on the second round, at least according to this. I agree that its weird :)
 

Rystil Arden said:
(OOC: Ah, well as per Astral Construct: So you either have to say it disappears instantaneously or agree that it gets its attacks on the second round, at least according to this. I agree that its weird :)

OOC: Ok. It's weird. :confused: But you can't act twice in a round IMHO...
 

(OOC: Ya, its really weird. Anyways, I won't be offended if Two just decides to limit my duration and move on for now. However, that doesn't mean I'm not going to have some fun with this on the rules forum thread :D)
 

OOC: I will be AFK for the rest of the day, and possibly most of tomorrow - if I get two "drop its", go ahead and drop it, and proceed with the game. Vargo will cast magic fang on Huln, then get Huln to attack and Imp. Trip the ratmen. If it comes down to one rat left, he'll try to move into some kind of flanking position, and do aid another actions for attacks against the ratmen.
 

Remove ads

Top