Ah yes, another Grapple situation

Wolfix

First Post
Ok, we have the following 2 characters, a 3rd level ftr/barb with an axe & shield, and a 3rd level large size psywar with 2 claws (from the Claws of the Beast power). Now the psywar wants to try and grapple the ftr/barb, and a couple of things about this are unclear to me:

1 - With 10ft reach (as per Expansion power), will the psywar provoke an AoO without the Improved Grapple feat if he attempts to start a grapple from 10ft away? (the ftr/barb only has 5ft reach)

2 - The psywar has 2 claw attacks when he takes a full round action, does this mean he can also attempt to start a grapple twice in one round? Or does this only work with the extra attacks gained from high BAB?

3 - Similarly, once they are grappling, is the psywar able to attack twice because of his 2 claws?

4 - Step 3 of the grappling rules in the SRD: "Hold. Make an opposed grapple check as a free action. If you succeed, you and your target are now grappling, and you deal damage to the target as if with an unarmed strike." The unarmed strike, would that be a claw attack in the psywar's case?

Thanks! :)
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Wolfix said:
Ok, we have the following 2 characters, a 3rd level ftr/barb with an axe & shield, and a 3rd level large size psywar with 2 claws (from the Claws of the Beast power). Now the psywar wants to try and grapple the ftr/barb, and a couple of things about this are unclear to me:

1 - With 10ft reach (as per Expansion power), will the psywar provoke an AoO without the Improved Grapple feat if he attempts to start a grapple from 10ft away? (the ftr/barb only has 5ft reach)

Yes, he provokes an AoO. The opponent does not threaten you, therefore he cannot take it. It would be a reasonably fair house rule to say that you can AoO creatures with reach that are trying to grapple you, since they're obviously reaching into your square to try the grapple.

2 - The psywar has 2 claw attacks when he takes a full round action, does this mean he can also attempt to start a grapple twice in one round? Or does this only work with the extra attacks gained from high BAB?

3 - Similarly, once they are grappling, is the psywar able to attack twice because of his 2 claws?

No. The double claw attacks are part of a natural attack routine, and aren't usable as a grapple attempt. This is my gut on this one, the rules are somewhat fuzzy.

You could claw twice in subsequent rounds when the grapple is engaged, but that would be attacking with a natural weapon, so you take the -4 on each attack.

4 - Step 3 of the grappling rules in the SRD: "Hold. Make an opposed grapple check as a free action. If you succeed, you and your target are now grappling, and you deal damage to the target as if with an unarmed strike." The unarmed strike, would that be a claw attack in the psywar's case?

No. The claw is a natural attack, not an unarmed strike. Barring the improved unarmed strike feat or monk levels, you'll do 1d4 (large size) + strength subdual damage.

Edited to fix quoting.
 
Last edited:

DanMcS has it mostly right. His "gut" is right, too, per the 3.5e PH and the old 3e Main FAQ, multiple natural weapons do not grant multiple grapple attempts.

But you can't use two (or more) weapons while grappling, so the round after initiating the grapple, Mr. Claws gets only one claw attack at -4, not two.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top