D&D 5E An elven cleric archer

He ended up making an wood elven cleric with Wisdom of 16 and Dexterity of 18. And then he bought a bow...


Cneers!

Yup, when the PHB drops I plan on making a wood elf "shaman" with a bow. He'd start off as a nature domain cleric then multi into druid or divination wizard.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I have mad a WE Cleric with emphasis on bows to do MoP as well. My question, when he is prepared for battle he will be carrying his longbow. The plan is to get one or two shots off till it is time to switch tactics. Should he drop the bow for a non action, draw two shortswords for his action, or can he draw a short sword and a shield for just one action?
 
Last edited:

RAW you cannot even draw two weapons in a turn without using your Action. You can only interact with one object for free.
 

RAW you cannot even draw two weapons in a turn without using your Action. You can only interact with one object for free.

Gotcha, so either way, two melee weapons or one with a shield, will require one turn to pull off before attacking. Dropping his shield as his "flourish" (minor) and drawing a weapon + another weapon/shield takes up the full regular Action. But, I guess I haven't used Move yet or is that still pushing it?
 

Gotcha, so either way, two melee weapons or one with a shield, will require one turn to pull off before attacking. Dropping his shield as his "flourish" (minor) and drawing a weapon + another weapon/shield takes up the full regular Action. But, I guess I haven't used Move yet or is that still pushing it?

Note that there's no actual thing as a "move" action. :)

The actual rule (page 70 of the Basic rules PDF) is that you can interact with ONE object as a free action; any other interaction takes an action.

Strictly speaking, dropping the bow is the one interaction you have with an item. You could then ready your shield as an action, then on the next turn draw your sword as a free action then attack (as an action).

I'll most likely have a less strict interpretation than that at my table!

Cheers!
 
Last edited:


Gotcha, so either way, two melee weapons or one with a shield, will require one turn to pull off before attacking. Dropping his shield as his "flourish" (minor) and drawing a weapon + another weapon/shield takes up the full regular Action. But, I guess I haven't used Move yet or is that still pushing it?
Note that both doffing and doning a shield require an action (BR pg. 44)
 

Remove ads

Top