Another Haste & 5 foot step question

Drakken

First Post
This happened; I couldn't verify any inaccuracies from the books.

Tenth level Cleric was hasted and in melee.
He took a 5-foot step backwards, and cast a spell.
He then took a 5-foot step forward and performed his single hasted attack with his mace.

No attacks of opportunity were incurred from the person he was in melee with.

This just seems wrong, but I can't find anywhere that states you can't have two 5-foot steps if you’re hasted or that moving twice will incur an attack of opportunity.

I did find the exact example of backing up and casting in the back of the new PH, and found that you can cast with just one hand.
Was he right?

Thanks for any assistance either way.
:)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

You get a 5-ft adjustment (no AoO) once per round period.

There was a thread almost identical to this last week I think (maybe 2 ago).

IceBear
 
Last edited:

You never ever get more than one 5' step in a round. Not with haste, not with quicklings, not with anything.

The only exception would be custom feats, spells, monsters or magic items that your dm might make up to specifically allow this. I have a feat imc that lets you trade an attack of opportunity for a 5' step, but only if nobody is threatening you other than the enemy triggering the aoo. I think anything more than this is a dangerous abuse of the rules.
 

As posted, you only get one 5' step per round. Ever.

What's more, you can only take the 5' step if you take no other movement for the whole round.

Once your cleric took his 5' step, that used up his entire movement allowance. He then became nailed to the floor in his new square, and could not legally have moved anyplace else.
 

But, WHERE does it say you only get ONE 5-foot move? No really, I just want to know where, what physical book or FAQ.

Even the D&D FAQ has this quote:
You don.t get a move-equivalent action plus a partial action as your turn. You get either a standard action (which does not allow a 5-foot step), a full-move action (which allows a 5-foot step if the action itself doesn.t include movement), or a partial action (which also allows a 5-foot step if the action doesn.t include movement).

So, if Haste adds a patial action, unless somewhere it says you only get one 5-foot move, then the additional partial action gives an additional 5-foot move.

See my problem, no documented facts.
 

It's in the basic description of Attacks of Opportunity. I dunno the PHB page, but in the SRD it's here.

Relevant quote, emphasis mine:
If a combatant's entire move for the round is 5 feet the 5 foot move does not provoke an attack of opportunity.
 


There are a lot more threads too if you look back (seems to have been brought up a few more times in the last couple of weeks) as well as on Wizards web site which is searchable.
 

In my signature is a website where we posted the reason why you cannot take more than two 5-foot steps in one round.

Just click on Forums and proceed to the Dungeons & Dragons 3e Forum listed under d20.

Hope this helps a little more than reading through the previous thread I referred to above.
 

Ok, I think I have enough facts. Only one 5-foot step per ROUND.

The previous thread was from Sept 2002, so even though I looked, I didn't go back far enough.

Here are some killer responses people put down to anyone not wanting to look back over the threads:

"If your entire move for the round is 5 feet (a 5-foot step), enemies do not get attacks of opportunity for you moving."

Thus your entire move FOR THE ROUND. If you take another five foot move it isn't a 5-foot step. It doesn't say "per action."

PHB, page 121 : If you move no actual distance in a round, you can take one 5-foot step ...
The first 5-foot step would count as a moving an actual distance.

Thanks again for allowing a question that has literally been asked dozen's of times.
 

Remove ads

Top