Antimagic, Harpoon and Etherealness

Macbrea

First Post
Ah, I finally needed to come over and ask a silly rules question. For those of you that have been watching the Game of Death in the Fight club forum. I need a rules question answered.


Ok, here is the scene.

One character has an antimagic field around him.
The second character has a suspended Etherealness spell while he is within the antimagic field.
The third character has a harpoon tied around his waist and has thrown it into the second characters chest. That third character isn't within the antimagic field.


What happens if the Second character moves outside of the area of the antimagic field?


Currently, I am leaning towards both the second and third characters are drug to the Ethereal plane.

Any advice on this would be appreciated.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


The thrown harpoon goes ethereal the moment it leaves the AMF - still attached to the character with the etherealness on them...

your "fish" never gets on the hook in the first place.
 

Hmmm...

...it´s a bit of interpretation, I guess, but always keep in mind that the spell effect is the desired effect of the caster in a nutshell.

The spell description says:" As etheral jaunt, except you and other creatures joined by linked hands along with their equipment become etheral."

First, those two aren´t joined by linked hands, and as it´s expressively stated, I´d take that as a prereq for join-jaunting into etheralness. Second, I doubt that someone would view a weapon sticking inside your body as a part of his own equipment ;) . So my take would be that, as soon as chara #2 leaves the AMF, he becomes etheral and chara #3 has a slack rope with a harpoon at it´s end.
 

Probably, going with leaving the harpoon behind. Was going to let the harpoon goto the ethereal plane and leave the rope behind but i don't think a weapon would be seperated by the jump.


And as to the comment about wether the person would ever be hit. Yes, a person standing in an antimagic field can be hit by a harpoon. No matter what spell they have on them.
 

whoops -
I misread your post. I thought you were describing the second character throwing the harpoon/rope out AT character 3.

In that case - the fish slips off the hook as He comes out of the AMF by going ethereal.

The problem with the Harpoon "being or not being their equipment" is irrelevant - as the suspended etherealness spell is already in place - and not affecting the harpoon.
 

And the point is MOOT because Agladan ROCKS!

The Vengeance team is Victorious! Verdin is Avenged!

Humms gladly as he disappears into a ghostly whisp of smoke
 

Remove ads

Top