AoO for Unanticipated Movement?

Here's the scenario:

Naga is swimming in water and threatened by flying PC who is diagonally adjacent. Someone casts control water and causes the water level to drop by 16 feet, thus causing the naga to lower along with the water. This occurs on the caster's turn, not the naga's.

Does the naga provoke an AoO for dropping due to the declining water level? (since it can't fly and maintain its original "altitude")
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I was tempted to say no, but checked the only similar rule I could think of: bull rush.

When someone is pushed back by bull rush, he provokes attacks of oppertunity.

I am thus inclined to say this unintentional move provokes an attack of oppertunity.
 



Here's the scenario:

Naga is swimming in water and threatened by flying PC who is diagonally adjacent. Someone casts control water and causes the water level to drop by 16 feet, thus causing the naga to lower along with the water.

I'm walking on a path threatened by a flying PC and the pathway slopes down, and I continue walking. AoO? Hint, you are both moving...
 

Yes. All movement triggers AoOs unless the thing causing the movement specifies otherwise.

For example, the psionic power Energy Push specifically states: "The movement caused by energy push does not provoke attacks of opportunity."
 


I concur. That is the general rule.
The general rules is for moving. What is done with a move action.
Moving
Moving out of a threatened square usually provokes an attack of opportunity from the threatening opponent. There are two common methods of avoiding such an attack—the 5-foot step and the withdraw action.
Yes. All movement triggers AoOs unless the thing causing the movement specifies otherwise.
Moving is what generally draws AoOs. Making a reflex save to not be trapped by a wall of stone should not draw an AoO.
It is possible, but difficult, to trap mobile opponents within or under a wall of stone, provided the wall is shaped so it can hold the creatures. Creatures can avoid entrapment with successful Reflex saves.
Also saying any forced repositioning causes AoO's to be drawn means using Awesome blow gets a bonus AoO

Awesome Blow [General, Fighter]
Prerequisites Str 25, Power Attack, Improved Bull Rush, size Large or larger.
Benefit As a standard action, the creature may choose to subtract 4 from its melee attack roll and deliver an awesome blow. If the creature hits a corporeal opponent smaller than itself with an awesome blow, its opponent must succeed on a Reflex save (DC = damage dealt) or be knocked flying 10 feet in a direction of the attacking creature’s choice and fall prone. The attacking creature can only push the opponent in a straight line, and the opponent can’t move closer to the attacking creature than the square it started in. If an obstacle prevents the completion of the opponent’s move, the opponent and the obstacle each take 1d6 points of damage, and the opponent stops in the space adjacent to the obstacle.

I'm walking on a path threatened by a flying PC and the pathway slopes down, and I continue walking. AoO? Hint, you are both moving...
That situation has the enemy taking the move action.
 

I agree with frankthedm. Bull rush specifies that AoOs are provoked because, generally speaking, involuntary movement doesn't provoke AoOs.

On the other hand, this is a pretty cool use of control water, so I have to admit I'd be tempted.
 

On the other hand, this is a pretty cool use of control water, so I have to admit I'd be tempted.

I awarded an AoO for the same reason.

But thinking about it after reading the above posts, I don't think I would in future (or, at least, not as a general rule). Unintentional repositioning happens all the time (e.g., coming down on one side of a wall spell or the other, based on a successful save) and don't normally provoke AoO. I'd be inclined to use the same logic here.
 

Remove ads

Top