Applying Ghost Template

tassadar7945

First Post
I'm currently in a campaign where my character has come back from the dead as a ghost, and i'm wondering about the HD for my character. I know that normally hit dice are not changed when adding a template, however the template says all current and future HD are d12s, so i was wondering if i am to change all my class HD to d12s and figure out HP that way.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

ALL current and future HD become d12, so class level HD become d12.

As far as your comment "I know that normally hit dice are not changed when adding a template" that is the general rule but every template I am familiar with states what it changes. In this case ALL HD become d12, in other cases it only references racial HD or no change at all. But whenever going with templates not changing HD, this is not universally true.

Also, if you are wondering why this breaks from the general rule of template not messing with your class HD as well as racial - ghost are undead and you no longer have a CON score so they try and give you some form of not dying.
Please note, you don't have a CON score (listed as -- not 0) but you do get a +4 to CHA and CHA often increases HP or is used in place of CON score for undead. I haven't reread the entire ghost description to see if this is true for you. I suggest you take a thorough look at the full ghost description and make sure you understand everything when converting. If you have any other questions feel free to post.
 


ALL your hit dice become d12's, however AFAIK adding a template does NOT reroll your prior hit points thus your existing hit points remain as-is with any future hit point rolls made using a d12.
 

ALL your hit dice become d12's, however AFAIK adding a template does NOT reroll your prior hit points thus your existing hit points remain as-is with any future hit point rolls made using a d12.

I'd never heard that before. Do you know where I can read up on that rule?
 

I think that it's this part of the text:

"A ghost uses all the base creature’s statistics and special abilities except as noted here."

Nothing says you reroll your HP but it's often done in the rare event that a PC becomes an undead.
 

Right remains the same unless noted they get d12 HD. When would that come up for previously acquired HD if you don't reroll? Is there anywhere that explicitly says don't reroll HP? Why not just say in the ghost description that all future HD become d12s instead of all CURRENT and future HD. Also, it should say in the HP or HD description that they wouldn't reroll unless there is an over-riding rule that I have never seen.
 

I am not an undead template expert but based on the way it is worded, and barring in RAW to the contrary that I am not aware of, I would say you re-roll. Otherwise, changing your "current" hit dice type would be meaningless.
 

presumably because its easier to simply mark ALL hit dice are d12 rather than noting when the template changed occurred for that rare instance when the now deceased PC somehow manages to lose prior levels and WOULD reroll hit points upon regaining those levels ??

which brings to mind the question: normally a PC inflicted with a negative level subtracts those levels from his current one for their duration ... however, since undead are healed by negative energy, would they correspondingly GAIN those levels for the duration?? (its likely covered in the book(s) but I'm currently away from my copies)
 


Remove ads

Top