Archmage: Mastery of Counterspelling

ThirdWizard said:
I would say, yes, he can. If spell can be affected by Spell Turning, which is defined in the spell description, not by who it is cast upon.

Example: Tim the Wizard casts charm person on Todd the Fighter. Bill the Archmage has readied a counterspell and uses his own charm person to counter it, and Mastery of Counterspelling kicks in because that spell can be affected by Spell Turning.
Very well, then. But how will this affect my original question?
Cyraneth said:
I was wondering if an archmage can choose not to use his mastery of counterspelling. Otherwise there wouldn't really be a point in trying to counter an enemy mage's fox's cunning, as it would simply turn back on the enemy mage, affecting him anyway. Or would it bounce over onto the archmage?
- Cyraneth
 

log in or register to remove this ad


I think that a strict interprietation of the rule is that it has to be Spell Turned, but I wouldn't make the Archmage do something that he doesn't want to do. That's my way of handling it, but I wouldn't say that that answers too well.
 

I was wondering if an archmage can choose not to use his mastery of counterspelling. Otherwise there wouldn't really be a point in trying to counter an enemy mage's fox's cunning, as it would simply turn back on the enemy mage, affecting him anyway. Or would it bounce over onto the archmage?

The wording of the ability implies that you cannot turn the power off. However, as a DM, I would rule that you can if you choose to. Otherwise it simply wouldn't make sense to use.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top