Attacking objects?

I could swear I remember a passage in 4E--I thought in the PHB, but I guess it could've been in the DMG--saying that, at the DM's discretion, powers that target one or more creatures can instead be used to target one or more objects. (One would imagine that this sort of thing would be obvious, but I was sure I saw it spelled out, regardless.) But I can't find the reference now.

Anyone know what I'm talking about? Or am I truly smoking crack?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Or am I truly smoking crack?

No, you're right - it should be in your PHB, p57.

... you have transferred all the errata to your PHB, right? :)

Target [Addition]
Player’s Handbook, page 57
Add the following sentences to the end of the first paragraph: “Some powers include objects as targets. At the DM’s discretion, a power that targets a creature can also target an object, whether or not the power lists an object as a potential target.”


-Hyp.
 

A-hah! That explains why I remembered it, but couldn't find it! (So I am smoking crack, but for not printing out the errata, not for misremembering the rule.) ;)

Thank you much. :)
 

Okay, now I must be smoking crack because while I also remembered the rule (but not the reference), I thought there was also a suggestion that such powers would (should?) do only half damage to the objects they weren't really supposed to target.

~
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top