Attacking with a shield

Taloras

First Post
Ok. One of the players in my game is taking Improved Shield Bash this level (3rd). What he wants to know is if he can use the heavy shield as his main weapon, using a dagger or light mace as his secondary(so hes using a one handed weapon and a light weapon), this way he only gets a -2,-2 to his attacks, instead of a -4,-4 for using a medium sized off hand weapon(his heavy shield as off hand). Im not sure how the rules would work with this. It says under shields to count them as an off hand weapon. Can they be used as the main weapon with no penalties?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

*shrug* I don't see why not. There are only three weapon categories: "light", "one handed", and "two handed". A light or one handed weapon can be wielded in your off hand but there is no such thing as an "off hand weapon" catgory, the player picks which hand is his off hand. A heavy shield is a one handed weapon so your player should be ok.
 

This is a hard one to answer, and one that my group went over a lot in the past few years.

The answer is complicated. The shield descriptor indicates that a medium shield may be used to make an "offhand" attack only (although part of this depends on how you read this language -- does that mean you *can't* use a shield to make a main-hand attack?).

However, this really borks feats such as shield charge. Are you constrained to making an offhand attack at the end of a shield charge when that's your only attack for the round?

Further, it makes using even a medium shield brutal. You take all the offhand penalties for using a medium-sized weapon offhand if you slam with a medium shield.

In my opinion, the shield attack rules are borked. I would permit the following:

You can make a SINGLE attack in a round with any weapon you carry IN EITHER HAND as a "main-hand" attack, and not suffer the penalties for fighting with two weapons.

Thus, if you make a SINGLE attack with a medium shield (i.e. shield charge), you do not suffer the offhand penalties or the penalties for fighting with two weapons.

You may not wield a shield with two hands.

If you attack with more than one weapon in a round (i.e. make use of the extra attacks from fighting with two weapons), you suffer all penalties as usual, and the additional offhand penalties for fighting with a medium-sized weapon in the offhand.

very best,

Carpe
 


Remove ads

Top