Attacks of Opportunity and Cover

Liquidsabre said:
Edit - Wait a tic. The fire elemental is not using a reach weapon (though it has natural reach) so shouldn't the FE be using the rules for melee cover anyhow?

"When making a melee attack against a target that isn’t adjacent to you (such as with a reach weapon), use the rules for determining cover from ranged attacks."

The target is not adjacent to the fire elemental.

I had to look at my battlemat to make sure the sizes worked out right. The Large-mount and character do not receive cover from the halfling against the Huge Fire Elemental using the ranged attack rules for cover. So your character should have gotten a smack from the FE when you moved through it's 15-foot threatened area afterall.

Gah. Yeah. I went to all the trouble of creating the diagram, and then I had the horse adjacent to the halfling in my head when I was drawing lines. Looking at the diagram, it works just fine.

Whether or not the halfling is 16 feet tall.

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hypersmurf said:
"When making a melee attack against a target that isn’t adjacent to you (such as with a reach weapon), use the rules for determining cover from ranged attacks."

Ah, that's it. Yea, the question kinda hit me in the middle of the whole thing heh and I had to wonder. So a reach weapon is just one situation (natural reach being another) where a creature or character making melee attacks against non-adjacent targets must use the ranged-attack cover rules. Thanks Hyp!
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top