Attacks while Wildshaped (Complete Warrior)

Curugul

First Post
Ok so what gives.

In the complete warrior, Beshya, a Natures Warrior (new PRC) is listed as going from two attacks (due to her base attack bonus) to ONE attack while in Dire Wolf form.

Polymorph in 3.5 states that if follows Alter Self, and Alter Self states that "A body with extra limbs does not allow you to make more attacks (or more advantageous two-weapon attacks) than normal."

But apparently a body with less limbs/natural attacks, like a Dire wolf, makes you LOOSE attacks? What the heck.

Do you get the attack routine of the thing you have polymorphed into or not? It would they seem to think you only get the attack routine if you LOOSE attacks.

Just what the heck does Extra limbs mean? If your a human (2 arms 2 legs head) who changes into a Dire Bear, do you get its attack routine? How about a Hydra? What if your naturally a many armed creature (like a Thri-Kreen)... would your extra limbs count as extra limbs to work while wildshaped?

Does ANYONE have any kind of idea? I want to play a Shifter (from masters of the wild) but have NO idea how attacking during wildshape is supposed to work now.


Thanks,

Curugul
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The rules, as written, are unclear. There have been various reports from within WotC that are inconsistent. If you want a clear answer, keep bugging WotC until they put together a web enhancement that clarifies this whole mess.

The most common interpretation that I have seen is:

1.) You generally use the normal attack routine of the adopted form. For instance, a druid in wolverine form may make 2 claw attack at full BAB and one bite attack at BAB -5.

2.) You may use your normal attack routine if the new form can use manufactured weapons. For instance, a human polymorphed into an ogre may use his normal attack routine.

3.) If the form has more than 2 of the same limb, a humanoid polymorphed into that form may only use 2 of that limb to attack. For instance, a humanoid polymorphed into an octopus may only make 2 arm (tentacle) attacks.

4.) If the form is capable of mixing manufactured weapon attacks and natural attacks, a creature polymoprhed into that form may do the same (example: troglodytes can make manufactured weapon attacks, claw attacks and bite attacks all at once).

5.) Certain special attacks may result in circumstances that break these rules.

Many DMs have adopted these rules. Many other DMs have adopted other rules. Custserv@wizards has given out multiple conflicting pieces of advice. I have personally received directly conflicting advice from wizards on the exact same questions, sent in one month apart.

My suggestion: Before one game session, the DM from your group and the players in your group should sit down, talk out how you think it should work and come to a decision. Then, stick to it and make it work until WotC gets around to providing a definite set of rules that clarifies this whole mess.
 

Remove ads

Top