Awaken & Incarnate Construct

Infinite_Kydeem

First Post
Savage Species (a 3.0 source book) had the spells Awaken Construct (gave a construct an intelligence score) and Incarnate Construct (changed a from a construct to a humanoid or giant).

Are these spells in any of the 3.5 books that I just haven't seen yet, or are they no longer legal spells.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Savage Species was made with some of the 3.5 changes included - I consider it "3.25". (FAQ answers on SS are in the official 3.5 FAQ.)

Either way, 3.0 spells are still "legal" unless they've been updated in a newer book.

In this case Awaken Construct was reprinted in Spell Compendium, unchanged*. I don't think Incarnate Construct is anywhere but SS.

*Edit: Not quite. I had another look after JiCi's post, and sure enough: Mental ability scores are now specified as 3d6 (rather than "humanlike"), and the construct gains skills and feats.
 
Last edited:

Iku Rex said:
In this case Awaken Construct was reprinted in Spell Compendium, unchanged. I don't think Incarnate Construct is anywhere but SS.
The main problem is that Incarnate Construct needs the template to be completed.

This spell doesn't really need an update; Awaken Construct does it for you. So far, the only update is that the construct, upon becoming living and/or intelligent, receives skills points and feats based on its HD, which is a good thing that Savage Species didn't have.

So an incarnate construct loses all special abilities, but gains a constitution score and some skills and feats to boot.

... and there is no "illegal" spells, just spells that got updated throughout the years
 




Remove ads

Top