Bards and CLW wands?

qstor

Adventurer
Can a 1st level bard use a CLW wand? I would be inclined to say no, because the 1st level bard doesn't have the ability to cast CLW and has to have it on their spell list? Or does the rule cited in the DMG about the 2nd level paladin apply?

thanks

Mike
 

log in or register to remove this ad

A lvl 1 bard can use a wand of CLW for the same reason a lvl 1 wizard can use a wand of fireball... the spell is on their class list, regardless of whether or not they can cast it yet normally. There is no prerequisite on using a wand of having a CL high enough to memorize the spell in the first place.
 

Moreover, the 1st-level Bard could hand the wand to his 1st-level Paladin and 1st-level Ranger buddies, and both of them could use it, too - even though neither of them can cast anything yet! :)
 


sullivan said:
So can War Mages use the wands for -all- arcane Evocation spells through the potential of future Advanced Learning? This actually came up in a campaign recently.

No

Advanced learning lets a warmage put a few spells on his spell list not all tge arcane evocation spells.
Only when a spell is on the warmage spell list as it can be found on pages 90 & 91 can he use a wand with that spell.
You could use a wand for that spell after you learned it through advanced learning.
 

sullivan said:
So can War Mages use the wands for -all- arcane Evocation spells through the potential of future Advanced Learning? This actually came up in a campaign recently.
No, those spells are not on his spell list until he has learned them. Advanced learning allows him to add spells to his spell list, that is they are not already on it.
 




Henrix said:
Wands are not arcane or divine, those are properties of scrolls.

Here I think you may be wrong. Mainly because of the Artificer in Eberron. HIS wands are neither arcane nor divine, and so neither a cleric nor a wizard could use it without UMD. This suggests that normal wands are indeed either arcane or divine...

Of course, I could be reading that wrong and a wand an artificer makes could be used by anyone with the spell on their spell list, but I thought such was not the case.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top