Bards and CLW wands?

ARandomGod said:
Here I think you may be wrong. Mainly because of the Artificer in Eberron. HIS wands are neither arcane nor divine, and so neither a cleric nor a wizard could use it without UMD. This suggests that normal wands are indeed either arcane or divine...

You've got it backwardsish.

Wands are neither arcane nor divine, and anyone can use one so long as they have the spell on their class spell list.

Scrolls are either arcane or divine, and you must be an appropriately styled caster, as well as have the spell on your class spell list, in order to use them.

Except for artificer scrolls. Artificer scrolls, like wands, are neither arcane nor divine. Thus, in order to use one, you must succeed at a Use Magic Device check.

The difference is that scrolls are Spell Completion items, whereas wands are Spell Trigger items. Thus, they use different rules.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
The difference is that scrolls are Spell Completion items, whereas wands are Spell Trigger items. Thus, they use different rules.
But the rules for scrolls being divine or arcane is written under scrolls, it is not an attribute given all spell completion items. I thought so, too, until fairly recently.
 

Henrix said:
But the rules for scrolls being divine or arcane is written under scrolls, it is not an attribute given all spell completion items. I thought so, too, until fairly recently.

counter example?
are there spell completion items that are not scrolls?
and alternate scroll types (ie gems/string from Comp Arcane) obviously use the same rules as scrolls.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top