Bargaining with Called Creatures

Centaur

First Post
Assuming that Summoned creatures disappear as soon as they are killed, what happens to Called Creatures?

The Lesser Planar Binding and Lesser Planar Ally spells and their higher level counterparts allow you to summon creature fully to the characters world for an extended period of time for the purpose of completing some task.

During the summoning process, there is a bargaining step in which there may be some form of payment to the outsider in exchange for services rendered.

Assuming that the payment is given to the creature at the time the bargain is struck, what happens to the item or valuables that are handed over (assuming this was the agreement).

If the Outsider is later killed before completing the task the rules say he is actually killed, unlike a summoned creature. In this case, what happens to the body and the stuff he is carrying. If the body stays here like any other creature killed, would it be possible to retrieve the item paid? Or does the creature vanish along with everything it was carrying?

Any Thoughts?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I figure the corpse and the items stay.

It's not a good idea to exploit this, though... such an attempt can fail in a number of ways, some of which are really unpleasant.
 

Well, by the spell description, it sounds as though payment is supposed to be given -after- the service is performed:

"You may ask the creature to perform one task for you, and the creature may request some service in return. The more demanding your request, the greater return favor the creature asks for. <snip> If you agree to the service, the creature performs the task you reqeusted, reports back to you afterward (if possible), and returns to its home plane. You are honor-bound to perform the return favor.

A creature may accept some form of payment, such as a magic item, in return for its service." (PHB)

So, in your situation - the outsider is killed before completing his task - the magic items would likely remain. He didn't fulfill his end of the contract, thus you are no longer obligated to return the favor.

Now, if the task was, "Help us fight monster X," and he was killed while fighting monster X - then I'd rule that the items were gone.

As to whether its body remains or not - I'm not sure, but I believe outsiders vanish when killed, whether called or summoned. I don't have the official rules in front of me, though, so if anyone else knows, feel free to correct me.
 

Cyrik Skylark said:
As to whether its body remains or not - I'm not sure, but I believe outsiders vanish when killed, whether called or summoned. I don't have the official rules in front of me, though, so if anyone else knows, feel free to correct me.

I didn't think there were any official rules on it.
 

From the SRD regarding Calling:

The spell grants the creature the one-time ability to return to its plane of origin, although the spell may limit the circumstances under which this is possible.
<snip>
Creatures who are called actually die when they are killed; they do not disappear and reform, as do those brought by a summoning spell (see below).

Seems pretty clear to me. The slain outsider remains, corpse and all. The one time ability to return sounds like it is granted to the creature, not something that automatically happens. *Very interesting*, IMO. It is a good thing Gate has a "go away clause", otherwise, a Gated creature might stick around afterwards and pound an offending spellcaster....

As per payment, it does sound like a contractual service, where the outsider performs the task, *then* you pay or perform some service.
 

Devil LE : May want payment first but at least can be trusted as far as the contract is involved. Will likely be willing to wait on payment, But If cheated his high up WILL likely find out.

Daemon NE: half now, half later may be the bestway possible.

Demon CE: Pay afterwards.
 

Remove ads

Top