Knightfall1972 said:
Does the NPC still take the -4 to hit with the weapon, even though it sized as a Medium weapon?
I'm thinking it does, but I'm not sure.
The description of the bastard sword doesn't really cater for inappropriate size. Consequently, there are a couple of ways you could read it.
The bastard sword is a one-handed weapon; however, it is too large to wield in one hand without special training. It can be wielded two-handed as a martial weapon.
Assuming a Medium weapon:
By my reading, a human without the EWP feat can't wield the sword in one hand, with or without a -4 penalty. It is too large.
For an ogre, it is considered a light weapon. But there isn't an explicit rule in place to convert "too large to wield in one hand", or even "wield two-handed". (There's a rule for converting "two-handed weapon", but that isn't what the bastard sword text says.)
So one could read it that the bastard sword is a light weapon for the ogre, but too large to wield in one hand.
I personally make the assumption that it's a light weapon for the ogre, and takes the disadvantages thereof (-4 to Disarm and Sunder checks, for example), but does not gain the advantages (lowered TWF penalties, useable in a grapple, etc) unless he has the EWP feat.
So he can use it one-handed; if he uses it two-handed, he does not add 1.5x Str bonus because it's a light weapon; but if he uses it as an off-hand weapon, his TWF penalties are as if his off-hand weapon were not light.
He won't take a -4 non-proficiency penalty (assuming he has All Martial Weapons), but he will take a -2 inappropriate size penalty.
That's my own ruling, however... since there's detail missing from the weapon description, there are some blanks an individual DM will need to fill in.
-Hyp.