I got a question and want to know a ruling on an ability granted to a Binder. The Binder is from the Tome of Magic and the spirit being summoned is Paimon. One of the abilities granted is "Dance of Death". According to this ability it says:
When you use this ability, you can move up to your speed and make a single attack against any creature you move past, provoking attack of opportunity normally. <Rest omitted>
Now normally if you move threw a threatened square and attack you must stop your move. This ability is allowing the character to make this attack and continue on with his move which I'm okay with.
The question I have is the character was trying to perform a tumble by this character and attack and continue on through to the next bad guy to fight him.
In a sense he was trying to avoid the attack of opportunity. I (since I'm the DM) stated you can't attack while tumbling. The player stated this only says you move up to your speed and in this case only 15 ft since he was tumbling and you can make a single attack. And it didn't state he couldn't tumble.
So how would you rule on this scenario and why?
Joe
When you use this ability, you can move up to your speed and make a single attack against any creature you move past, provoking attack of opportunity normally. <Rest omitted>
Now normally if you move threw a threatened square and attack you must stop your move. This ability is allowing the character to make this attack and continue on with his move which I'm okay with.
The question I have is the character was trying to perform a tumble by this character and attack and continue on through to the next bad guy to fight him.
In a sense he was trying to avoid the attack of opportunity. I (since I'm the DM) stated you can't attack while tumbling. The player stated this only says you move up to your speed and in this case only 15 ft since he was tumbling and you can make a single attack. And it didn't state he couldn't tumble.
So how would you rule on this scenario and why?
Joe