Rafe
First Post
If the brute has a fighter with a mark on it, it's going to be pretty hard to hit the squishy, because you're going to take a beating when the fighter takes his OA with +WISMOD. To that end we ruled in our game that a 2-attack action (like most solos have) that includes the fighter for one of the attacks is good enough to satisfy the mark so the fighter doesn't get the OA, but I've yet to see any RAW or CS response that supports this interpretation.
Ah, thanks for that! You're right... I thought Fighters got OAs only when the marked target shifted or moved. I didn't see that it also counts if the marked target makes an attack that does not include the source of the mark. Good to know! (Hope the Fighter in my group is a bit more on the ball than I am...)
I think that's a good interpretation to make in this instance and I can see myself and my DM making the same one. That said, an "official ruling" would likely be more along the lines of: "To avoid the penalty to attack rolls as well as the OA, every attack - not simply one attack per round - made by a creature marked by Combat Challenge must include as a target the source of the mark."