Bo9S: Readying Maneuvers Multiple Times?

saucercrab

Explorer
Can a martial adept ready the same maneuver more than once at the same time? I've scoured the Blade Magic chapter but can't find anything that definitively states it either way.

(Unfortunately, I'm so used to certain spell-chuckers being able to memorize a spell multiple times that it occured to me for this.)
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Think of it this way...

With spells/day, you basically have a set of boxes... And in each of those boxes, you can put a copy of any spell you know. Spells/day is how many boxes you have.

With maneuvers readied, however; you have a row of switches. Each of those switches is either on or off. (readied or unreadied) Maneuvers readied is how many switches you can turn on.
 

blargney the second,
That's what I figure as well, but I'd like to have a page cite, in case someone in my group decides to use the book.

castro3nw,
See above.

Anyone else... Bueller, Bueller?
 

It was a CustServ response. There's a thread on the Wizards CharOp boards listing all the CustServ responses about the Tome of Battle, and it's one of them.

I'm Cleo!
 

I don't think it actually explicitly says, "you cannot ready a maneuver more than once." Rather, if I remember, you gather it from the way that the "ready a maneuver" section reads, and their examples with decks of cards, and so forth.

However, there's a "ask wizards" question dated 8/30/2006 that answers that you specifically cannot ready a maneuver more than once. So if your group is OK with the "ASK wizards" column, you've got your proof. If you don't like the site's customer service, or errata department, or FAQ, or sage advice (some discount those), then you'll not find a hard and fast rule.
 

Henry said:
... you gather it from the way that the "ready a maneuver" section reads, and their examples with decks of cards, and so forth.
This is what our group has "inferred" as well.

Since you're supposed to use a deck of 3x5 note cards, the implication is there's only one card per manuever, and therefore you can only ready a manuever once.

Pretty thin, but there it is.
 

Can you Ready the same maneuver more than once? Barring the CustServ ruling, I would say you could. However... It would be a waste to do so... Here is how you figure it out using just ToB RAW...

Page 40
When you initiate a maneuver, it is expended--you can not use it again until you recover it.

Steely Strike is a maneuver. I Ready Steely Strike 3 times. I initiate Steely Strike. Steely Strike is expended. I can not use Steely Strike again until I recover it.

This is similiar to Sorcerers...

Can a Sorcerer pick the same spell more than once? It doesn't specifically say that they can't, but it would be useless to them if they did (a waste of a spell known).
 

RigaMortus2, that's still pretty thin.

You can interpret the "it is expended" to mean "the manuever that you readied is expended". If you readied the same maneuver twice, when you initiate one of them, that one is expended. The other one is still readied.
 

Nail said:
RigaMortus2, that's still pretty thin.

You can interpret the "it is expended" to mean "the manuever that you readied is expended". If you readied the same maneuver twice, when you initiate one of them, that one is expended. The other one is still readied.

You aren't expending a "slot" though, you are expending a maneuver. Substitute the word "maneuver" for a specific maneuver, and it seems pretty clear IMO.

"It is expended" refers to the maneuver you initiated, not the maneuver you readied.

When you initiate a maneuver, it is expended

I initiate Steely Strike, Steely Strike is expended.

you can not use it again until you recover it.

I can not use Steely Strike again until I recover it.

I have 10 "copies" of Steely Strike ready. Can I use Steely Strike again if I have not recovered it?
 

Remove ads

Top