Bo9S: Readying Maneuvers Multiple Times?

Nail said:
RigaMortus2, that's still pretty thin.

You can interpret the "it is expended" to mean "the manuever that you readied is expended". If you readied the same maneuver twice, when you initiate one of them, that one is expended. The other one is still readied.

I agree it's pretty thin, but given how thoroughly the mechanics of slots are used through the game, the change in ToB to maneuvers is telling. There's no distinction in the book between "maneuvers" and "maneuver slots" (suggesting that there's not in fact "maneuver slots") while the difference is quite clear in the rest of the rules.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

RigaMortus2 said:
You aren't expending a "slot" though, you are expending a maneuver.
Not quite.

The martial adept is expending a readied maneuver.

How many maneuvers can a martial adept ready? :D
 


In the SRD

srd said:
Preparing Wizard Spells

A wizard’s level limits the number of spells she can prepare and cast. Her high Intelligence score might allow her to prepare a few extra spells. She can prepare the same spell more than once, but each preparation counts as one spell toward her daily limit. To prepare a spell the wizard must have an Intelligence score of at least 10 + the spell’s level.

[...]

Spell Selection and Preparation

Until she prepares spells from her spellbook, the only spells a wizard has available to cast are the ones that she already had prepared from the previous day and has not yet used. During the study period, she chooses which spells to prepare. If a wizard already has spells prepared (from the previous day) that she has not cast, she can abandon some or all of them to make room for new spells.

When preparing spells for the day, a wizard can leave some of these spell slots open. Later during that day, she can repeat the preparation process as often as she likes, time and circumstances permitting. During these extra sessions of preparation, the wizard can fill these unused spell slots. She cannot, however, abandon a previously prepared spell to replace it with another one or fill a slot that is empty because she has cast a spell in the meantime. That sort of preparation requires a mind fresh from rest. Like the first session of the day, this preparation takes at least 15 minutes, and it takes longer if the wizard prepares more than one-quarter of her spells.

Spell Slots

The various character class tables show how many spells of each level a character can cast per day. These openings for daily spells are called spell slots. A spellcaster always has the option to fill a higher-level spell slot with a lower-level spell. A spellcaster who lacks a high enough ability score to cast spells that would otherwise be his or her due still gets the slots but must fill them with spells of lower level.
 

Nail said:
Not quite.

The martial adept is expending a readied maneuver.

How many maneuvers can a martial adept ready? :D

A Martial Adept can Ready however many maneuvers as it states in their Table entry for a given level.

Perhaps I am missing your point. I don't see the relation you are trying to make here between expending readied maneuvers and the amount of maneuvers one can have readied.
 

Wow, this picked up while I went to work. Thanks in advance for the comments.

I'm Cleo & Henry,
Hmm, CustServ nay-saying it makes me think it is allowable. Or it isn't. Or it is. ;)
(Seriously, thanks for the sources. I'll check them later.)

Someone said:
I agree it's pretty thin, but given how thoroughly the mechanics of slots are used through the game, the change in ToB to maneuvers is telling. There's no distinction in the book between "maneuvers" and "maneuver slots" (suggesting that there's not in fact "maneuver slots") while the difference is quite clear in the rest of the rules.
That helps a lot. (For me, anyway.)

Being able to ready the same maneuver, then, looks like a job for an epic feat.
 

RigaMortus2 said:
Can you Ready the same maneuver more than once? Barring the CustServ ruling, I would say you could. However... It would be a waste to do so... Here is how you figure it out using just ToB RAW...



Steely Strike is a maneuver. I Ready Steely Strike 3 times. I initiate Steely Strike. Steely Strike is expended. I can not use Steely Strike again until I recover it.

This is similiar to Sorcerers...

Can a Sorcerer pick the same spell more than once? It doesn't specifically say that they can't, but it would be useless to them if they did (a waste of a spell known).

I think you need a better example than Sorcerers.

A Sorcerer may know Fireball as one of her spells (and as you mention, there's no need to learn fireball twice), but she can *cast* Fireball as many times as she has spell slots to cast it.

Similarly, a Martial Adept only needs to 'learn' a maneuver once, but the rules are unclear as to how many times they can *prepare* said maneuver.

Although, as has been mentioned, the consensus is only once. And the 'Maneuver Deck' idea is probably the best from the book on how to keep them organized.
 

Jhulae said:
I think you need a better example than Sorcerers.

A Sorcerer may know Fireball as one of her spells (and as you mention, there's no need to learn fireball twice), but she can *cast* Fireball as many times as she has spell slots to cast it.

Similarly, a Martial Adept only needs to 'learn' a maneuver once, but the rules are unclear as to how many times they can *prepare* said maneuver.

Although, as has been mentioned, the consensus is only once. And the 'Maneuver Deck' idea is probably the best from the book on how to keep them organized.

prepare = Ready

It does not state that they can only Ready a given maneuver once, or more than once.
If you assume they can Ready the same maneuver more than once, that does not remove the fact that when you use a specific maneuver, it is expended and can not be used again until it is recovered (as per the RAW in ToB).

A Sorcerer can *cast* a Fireball until they run out of spell slots. A martial adept can use the same maneuver over and over again so long as they (a) recover it or (b) Ready it.
 

Remove ads

Top