D&D 5E Bonus action and reaction spell - rules advice from WotC contradicting each other

Ricochet

Explorer
Here's the link.
http://www.sageadvice.eu/tag/reaction/

Crawford says no, Mearls says yes (a short way down the page, October 22nd).

Which is it according to the PHB? I am waiting for mine in the mail but I have a sneaky suspicion this exact scenario will come up during tonight's session because our wizard just got Misty Step, already has Shield, and the group is facing Magic Missile wielding maniacs tonight. :-)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I don't understand how they contradict each other. Both say you can do it- Mearls just mentioned that you can only move on your turn, not as part of the reaction.
 

"@sn0wraven Casting a bonus action spell does preclude casting a reaction spell on the same turn."

Maybe I'm thick. Doesn't this mean that using Misty Step on his bonus actions makes him ineligible to cast the Shield as a reaction later in the same turn? Or am I switching around turns and rounds? :-D
 

pre·clude


/prəˈklo͞od/


verb

verb: preclude; 3rd person present: precludes; past tense: precluded; past participle: precluded; gerund or present participle: precluding





prevent from happening; make impossible.
 

Exactly. Crawford says that the Misty Step precludes the Shield. Mearls says it doesn't. That's why I was hoping someone with the PHB could tell me who is right. :) I'm looking for the source of Crawford's reply within the book.
 

I think the point of confusion here is "turn". If I understand correctly turn =/= round. Basically if you cast a bonus action spell on your turn you can ONLY cast a cantrip on that turn. Meaning that if, say, you then provoked an attack of opportunity from movement after casting the bonus action spell you couldn't use the Shield spell to help block it. HOWEVER, if an enemy attacked you on THEIR turn you could still use your reaction to cast Shield spell because it isn't technically the same turn you cast the bonus action spell even if it is the same round.
 

Man, I was really sure he said "doesn't preclude"- I guess this is a typo, because he's wrong about it.

You can use your Action for anything but casting a spell that is not a cantrip, cast a spell as a Bonus Action and cast a spell as a Reaction.
 

Right. That makes sense, Shadowdweller00!

Wolfskin: Yeah, that's how I read the rules in the Starter Set too, but the "preclude" made me question it. :)
 

Crawford is not actually wrong btw. PHB p. 202 under the heading, Bonus Action: "You can't cast another spell during the same turn (referring to spells cast as bonus actions), except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
 

Mearls himself said that when his answers contradict Jeremy's, Jeremy's answer takes precedence, as he's the rules expert.
 

Remove ads

Top