[CA] Transdimensional Spell

andargor

Rule Lawyer Groupie
Supporter
So as to not break any copyright laws, I'll paraphrase. This metamagic feat allows a spell to affect creatures in coexistant planes or extradimensional spaces.

Now, the text gives an example on how such a metamagicked spell could affect someone on the Ethereal Plane or the Plane of Shadow. But... there's no mention that it affects creatures on the Material Plane!

This raises two questions:

  • Can a transdimensional spell affect Material Plane creatures/targets/areas, or is it restricted to affect creatures/targets in coexistant planes?
  • If the caster is on the Ethereal Plane or the Plane of Shadow, can she affect targets on the Material Plane with a transdimensional spell?

My answer would be yes for both, but I'd like to make sure. Opinions?

Andargor
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

IMHO





  • Can a transdimensional spell affect Material Plane creatures/targets/areas, or is it restricted to affect creatures/targets in coexistant planes? <B>YES</b>
  • If the caster is on the Ethereal Plane or the Plane of Shadow, can she affect targets on the Material Plane with a transdimensional spell? <B>YES</b>
 

Also don't forget that 'Extradimensional Spaces' bit.

  • Does "Transdimensional Spell" let me fireball those rats hiding inside their Rope Trick? Why yes, yes it does. :]
 

Both planes should be affected equally, otherwise they're not coexistant.

Stick your hand into a pool and you get wet, but the water also gets you'd.
 


kmdietri said:
Sorry to ask a question on a question, but do you guys know what the level bump is for transdimensional spell?
I don't have CA, but I assume it's the same feat which came out in CD, and that one uses a slot one level higher.
 

Thanks for the (alternate) reality check. It is indeed an interesting feat all-round, and somewhat powerful combined with plane shift or ethereal jaunt. Heck, even blink.

Pyrex said:
Also don't forget that 'Extradimensional Spaces' bit.

  • Does "Transdimensional Spell" let me fireball those rats hiding inside their Rope Trick? Why yes, yes it does. :]

And don't forget casting from within an extradimensional space...

Let's say the caster is of a type that doesn't require to breathe, like an Elemental Savant with Elemental Perfection. She hides in a bag of holding of sufficient size, and can cast spells that affect creatures outside... :)

Andargor
 

Let's say the caster is of a type that doesn't require to breathe, like an Elemental Savant with Elemental Perfection. She hides in a bag of holding of sufficient size, and can cast spells that affect creatures outside...

Dangerous proposition.

She doesn't have line of effect to anywhere outside of the bag, and unless someone outside is carrying it, the bag is considdered an unattended object, and thus will probably be destroyed by any area damage spells...

...with her still inside.
 

Sejs said:
Dangerous proposition.

She doesn't have line of effect to anywhere outside of the bag, and unless someone outside is carrying it, the bag is considdered an unattended object, and thus will probably be destroyed by any area damage spells...

...with her still inside.

And I thought I had the perfect plan... <sigh>

:D

Andargor
 

Remove ads

Top