Calculating the save vs a spell in a spell storing weapon

Abraxas

Explorer
From the SRD
Spell Storing: A spell storing weapon allows a spellcaster to store a single targeted spell of up to 3rd level in the weapon. (The spell must have a casting time of 1 standard action.) Any time the weapon strikes a creature and the creature takes damage from it, the weapon can immediately cast the spell on that creature as a free action if the wielder desires. (This special ability is an exception to the general rule that casting a spell from an item takes at least as long as casting that spell normally.) Once the spell has been cast from the weapon, a spellcaster can cast any other targeted spell of up to 3rd level into it. The weapon magically imparts to the wielder the name of the spell currently stored within it. A randomly rolled spell storing weapon has a 50% chance to have a spell stored in it already.

So, when the spell stored allows a save is the save calculated as

10 + spell level + mod for minimum ability score needed to cast

or

10 + spell level + mod for the ability score of the person who cast it?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

As far as I know, it's just as if the caster had cast it. Meaning that if the spell stored was a Lightning Bolt (I know you can't actually use Lightning bolt for it, but it's just an example) as cast by a 10th-level Wizard with an Intelligence of 20, than it would do 10d6 points of electricity damage, or half if they make their reflex save of 18 (10 + 3 for the level + 5 for intelligence).
 

Huh

Why can't you use L. Bolt? Am I confused as to what a "Targeted spell" is? I have to read the PHB again... doh !

-T
 

Tatsukun said:
Why can't you use L. Bolt? Am I confused as to what a "Targeted spell" is? I have to read the PHB again... doh !

-T
A targeted spell is anything that specifically targets someone. Hold Person, for example, has a "Target: One humanoid" section in its description. Lightning Bolt, however, doesn't have a target section- rather, it has an Effect seciton. Its effect is a 5-foot wide line to the extreme of its range.
 

Spells cast into a spell-storing device are cast at the minimum caster level. While that fact is true for Spell-storing rings ("A minor ring of spell storing contains up to three levels of spells that the wearer can cast. Each spell has a caster level equal to the minimum level needed to cast that spell") I assume it applies to Weapons of Spell-storing as well but that's only my assumption. But since there's a cap of 3rd level on weapons of spell-storing, it's not as much an issue as it is for rings.

The formula for the DC of the save is Spell Level x 1.5 (round down) +10. That is, use the minimum stat necessary to cast the spell.

Greg
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top