• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Campaign Worlds: What do we need?

InVinoVeritas

Adventurer
So, I've been reading John Keay's The Spice Route: a History. It, once again, tickles my creative juices. It focuses on the spice trade across the Indian ocean and all the players in Asia, Africa, and Europe that made it so lucrative over the millennia.

I'm seeing trips to unexplored islands. I'm seeing rajas, sheiks, and a Celestial Bureaucracy. I'm seeing hidden sources for magical spell components, or even potionlike herbs that grow in the jungle. I see the seven voyages of Sinbad, the missions of Zheng He, the explorations of Marco Polo and Ibn Batuta.

I see a world governed by trade winds, by the monsoons. I can combine concepts from other past worlds I've created into an interesting whole.

But do I need to?

For my creative juices, sure. But for players I don't yet have? For everyone here, just to play with? Do we actually need another campaign world? Or is there something in a campaign world that would be new and interesting for others?

What do you think? Is there anything you are looking for in a campaign world? Would you rather not bother with one? Or would you just enjoy the chance to see something new?

Nifft

Penguin Herder
What I'm not seeing is why your "spice route" game demands a whole new campaign world. If you want to make one, by all means make one! But if all you want to do is play a travel-intensive merchant-themed game, I suspect you can add a "spice route" to almost any setting -- not Midnight or Ravenloft perhaps, but excluding those & their ilk, almost any setting.

It might be a fun exercise to detail how a "spice route" would work in various well-known published settings... and what kind of setting-specific complications the PCs would tend to run into.

Cheers, -- N

Jürgen Hubert