Can a sword and shield fighter make a natural weapon slam attack in the same round?


log in or register to remove this ad

Zurai said:
There are also medium sized creatures that can have two slam attacks. Warforged, for instance.
I'm unsure if this information might be useful, but here are the extra attack rules for a Psionic Construct:
"Extra Attack
If the astral construct is Medium or smaller, it gains two slam attacks instead of one when it makes a full attack. Its bonus on damage rolls for each attack is equal to its Strength modifier, not its Strength modifier × 1½. If the astral construct is Large or larger, it gains three slams instead of two when it makes a full attack. Its attacks are otherwise unchanged. "
 


blargney the second said:
Err.. mvincent.. that's the Extra Attack option from menu B. Default astral constructs have one slam at medium/small and two slams if bigger.
Yup (known). Like I said, I have no idea if the information was useful to your side discussion (I confess to not reading that thread thoroughly), and I'm not supporting any side. It just seemed interesting.

For a large construct, I'd be curious what appendage would be used for the 3rd attack (and how this might interact with say, using a two-handed manufactured weapon).
 


Meeki said:
Read the natural attack section, it mentions slam in the intro section. It also says large creatures with two or more arm like appendages can make 2 slam attacks. Here is what it says:

"Natural Weapons: ....The number of attacks a creature can make with its natural weapons depends on the type of the attack—generally, a creature can make one bite attack, one attack per claw or tentacle, one gore attack, one sting attack, or one slam attack (although Large creatures with arms or arm-like limbs can make a slam attack with each arm). Refer to the individual monster descriptions."

This is not a rule. This is a guideline. Note the use of the word "GENERALLY". It is not the same as the world "ALWAYS" or the word "ONLY".

Again, I ask you to cite a RULE that states a medium-sized creatue may only have a single slam attack, and a large creature may only have two slam attacks.
 

It uses the term generally for creatures that have more than one appendage to perform natural attacks; however it specifically points out that large creatures with arms or arm like limbs can make a slam attack with each arm. Obviously picking out that creatures large and larger can have more slam attacks if they have the appendages is not meant to be something put in there for fun. It is obviously intended that medium sized creatures will only have one slam attack. I cannot recall any medium sized creatures in the MM that have more than one slam attack.

You can design a creature with more than one slam attack and is tiny, just like you can design a new skill, new spell, new feat, new anything in D&D. However, it is not intended that medium sized creatures or smaller, especially ones with arms and arm like appendages, to have more than 1 slam attack; as can be seen by the monster design in the MM. D&D is a giant guideline used to play with the D20 system, everything is optional.
 

Meeki said:
You can design a creature with more than one slam attack and is tiny, just like you can design a new skill, new spell, new feat, new anything in D&D. ... D&D is a giant guideline used to play with the D20 system, everything is optional.

This is a cop-out, and you know it. The thing you quoted is not a rule. A rule is, for example, "All animals have an intelligence of 2 or less". A rule precludes exceptions. A DM is always free to create exceptions to a rule, but in order to BE a rule, it has to be rigid.
 

Why, then, is there a rule in this generality that large creatures with two or more arms or arm like appendages can make two slam attacks? Is this a rule? It clearly states this fact without exception. There is intention in design.

We must have a different interpretation of a "rule", but I'm not going to argue with you over what size can get two slam attacks. I've already digressed enough and think that the original question has been answered.
 
Last edited:

Angrygodofmilk said:
A dragon can slam with their wings. Is a kick slam really that unusual?

Actually the attack is listed as wing, not slam.

Wing
The dragon can slam opponents with its wings, even when flying. Wing attacks deal the indicated damage plus ½ the dragon’s Strength bonus (round down) and are treated as secondary attacks.

It is described as slamming with its wings but not specifically as a slam attack similar to how the claw and bite attacks are described as bite and claw attacks. On the chart the attacks are listed as 1 bite, 2 claws, 2 wings, 1 tail slap.

Also note that 2 wing attacks are gained at size medium.
 

Remove ads

Top