Can Hammer be used in conjunction w/ Unarmed Strike?

Technik4

First Post
Quick rules questions:

1. Can the hammer power (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/psionic/powers/hammer.htm ) be used in conjunction with an unarmed strike? So, swift and 1 pp to activate Hammer, then Standard to attack. If the attack roll misses, it appears the pp was wasted as it only lasts 1 round.

2. It seems that it only applies to your next attack roll, despite its duration in rounds (and being augmentable to last more than 1 round). Is this correct, or does it apply to all unarmed strikes for the round?

3. Would the sum of all the damage count to penetrate DR, or would the strike have to penetrate and then the Hammer penetrate separately?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It's a Swift action power, not a Standard action, so one attack is NOT included in its manifestation time. You may make a full attack on the round you manifest it.

It has Range: Touch, so it falls under the rules that you can deliver Touch attacks with your unarmed strikes or natural attacks.

I'd allow them to stack, if your unarmed strike deals lethal bludgeoning damage already.

Cheers, -- N
 

Nifft said:
I'd allow them to stack, if your unarmed strike deals lethal bludgeoning damage already.

Cheers, -- N
Eh? There's nothing to stack. Combining a spell or power with an unarmed strike deals the unarmed strike's damage and the normal effect of the spell or power.

You can normally have a weapon with the flaming property that deals some slashing/piercing/bludgeoning damage and fire damage at the same time, with both calculated seperately. This is similar.


Of course, if your unarmed strike isn't lethal (and the other traits that come with "armed" unarmed attacks) I don't see any benefit (provoking an AoO in exchange for an extra 1d3+ Str nonlethal damage?).
 

Technik4 said:
Quick rules questions:

Hammer
Psychometabolism
Level: Psion/wilder 1, psychic warrior 1
Display: Auditory and material
Manifesting Time: 1 swift action
Range: Personal
Target: You
Duration: 1 round
Power Points: 1
This power charges your touch with the force of a sledgehammer. A successful melee touch attack deals 1d8 points of bludgeoning damage. This damage is not increased or decreased by your Strength modifier.
Augment: For every additional power point you spend, this power’s duration increases by 1 round.

1. Can the hammer power (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/psionic/powers/hammer.htm ) be used in conjunction with an unarmed strike? So, swift and 1 pp to activate Hammer, then Standard to attack. If the attack roll misses, it appears the pp was wasted as it only lasts 1 round.

Yes.

2. It seems that it only applies to your next attack roll, despite its duration in rounds (and being augmentable to last more than 1 round). Is this correct, or does it apply to all unarmed strikes for the round?

It's all attacks. It's not a "until discharged" duration. Compare to effects like prevenom, which only affect a single attack.

3. Would the sum of all the damage count to penetrate DR, or would the strike have to penetrate and then the Hammer penetrate separately?

Neither. Powers / spells aren't subject to DR unless it specifically says so. If the attack lands, it deals the damage - no DR. DMs may want to subject them to DR due to it being "bludgeoning" damage, but that's your DMs call.
 

Scribbler said:
Eh? There's nothing to stack. Combining a spell or power with an unarmed strike deals the unarmed strike's damage and the normal effect of the spell or power.
Yes, there is.

Let's say you're a 1st level Monk / 1st level Psychic Warrior. You take hammer. You flurry a zombie while under the effect of hammer.

Your unarmed strike hits. You're going to deal 1d6 + Str damage, and also 1d8 damage. Do you apply DR once, or twice?

If the damage stacks: once.
If the damage does not stack, but rather is applied separately: twice.

Cheers, -- N
 

Nifft said:
Yes, there is.

Let's say you're a 1st level Monk / 1st level Psychic Warrior. You take hammer. You flurry a zombie while under the effect of hammer.

Your unarmed strike hits. You're going to deal 1d6 + Str damage, and also 1d8 damage. Do you apply DR once, or twice?

If the damage stacks: once.
If the damage does not stack, but rather is applied separately: twice.

Cheers, -- N
You're right, my mistake. I overlooked the DR question.
 

So the consensus is 1d8 bonus on damage but it uses up a swift action? And at higher levels, you can make it last for a while, but can never boost the damage. I guess that's fair. Yoinked for my Monk/FistofZuoken ;)
 

Remove ads

Top