Can my mount and I both Charge?

Shin Okada said:
But usual horse-riding human knight with lance still cannot make a mounted charge by RAW. Because the horse must move to "the closest space from which you can make an attack" and that space is adjacent to the opponent. And thus the knight cannot use his lance.

"A mount and rider share the same space on the battlefield.

For all game purposes, you and your mount function as a single unit on the battlefield. Your mount continues to use its own space and reach while carrying you. You effectively use your mount's space and your own reach (or whatever extended reach your weapon gives you) while mounted. While you're mounted, any attack that can reach a square in the space you and your mount jointly occupy can affect you or your mount (it doesn't make a difference which square). Likewise, you measure your reach for your melee attacks and the range for your ranged attacks from any square you and your mount jointly occupy. You don't get cover from your mount unless you use the Ride skill to get it, and your mount doesn't block your attacks and provide your foes with cover."

Since you are on your horse you can elect to measure your reach from the rear square, so that even with a 10ft reach lance, you only threaten the square directly in front of the horse. The one it threatens with it's attacks.

Same with a dragon, you can pick which square you measure your reach from so you just pick a square that matches the dragon's normal reach. This does become a problem if the dragon is so big it has 15ft+ reach however.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Bagpuss said:
Since you are on your horse you can elect to measure your reach from the rear square, so that even with a 10ft reach lance, you only threaten the square directly in front of the horse. The one it threatens with it's attacks.

I don't think so. There is no "rear square" anymore. That is 3.0e rule. Now if a medium sized humanoid shares the same space as a large sized mount, his threatening area matches to it's of Space 10ft./Reach 5ft. creature. So, with a lance, you don't threaten squares adjacent to that 10 ft. space. instead, your threatening area should look like that of Large [long] with reach weapon in P.308 of DMG (the middle one in the upper raw, and use light grey threatening area).
 

Hypersmurf said:
That would require the rider to have the Ride-By Attack feat.

In the absence of the feat, if the mount is just flying past the target, it is not charging, and therefore the attack is not 'from the back of a charging mount', it's just from the back of a moving mount.

-Hyp.

Now I'm confused, because if you have Ride-by-Attack, can the mount get an attack off when you do?

If flying does the mount need the Flyby Attack, feat or will just the rider having Ride-by-attack enough?
 


Remove ads

Top