Can somebody tell me what Wraithstrike does?

blargney the second said:
The wording of the spell doesn't mention changing the resolution of damage, so an application of Occam's Razor indicates that it's safer to assume that damage isn't affected.

If the damage is a part of the attack, then changing the resolution of the attack can affect the damage.

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hypersmurf said:
Right... but that's true of all attacks, not just touch attacks...

And? You are still assuming that because it says something then it must be special in some way. That does not follow. Especially when the wording does not back it up.

Hypersmurf said:
So what is it about touch attacks that is treated differently by DR than other attacks?

Why does there have to be something extra special again?
 



Hypersmurf said:
Because they're called out extra-specially.

This is not a valid answer to the question.

It is not as if redudancy is uncommon in the ruleset either.


Damage reduction cannot negate a touch attack. Reducing the damage to 0 did not negate the attack at all, it merely reduced the effectiveness of one part of the attack.
 

Slaved said:
Damage reduction cannot negate a touch attack. Reducing the damage to 0 did not negate the attack at all, it merely reduced the effectiveness of one part of the attack.

By that logic, Damage Reduction cannot negate any attack, so the line is meaningless.

I reject that conclusion.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
By that logic, Damage Reduction cannot negate any attack, so the line is meaningless.

I reject that conclusion.

So because it means what it says you choose instead to change what it says to fit some other meaning?

I reject your arguement. It is nonsensical.
 

If I make a trip against someone with DR, that attack is not negated. If it were, then anyone with DR would effectively be immune to trip attacks, since you need to make a melee touch attack in order for the opposed Str vs. Str/Dex attempt to work. It would never get that far.

Thankfully they spell out that DR does not negate touch attacks. And since DR does not negate touch attacks, you can resolve the touch attack as normal, then you can proceed with the opposed Str vs. Dex/Str roll to see if your opponent falls prone.
 

Remove ads

Top