5E Can you cast simulacrum on a creature under imprisonment?

Stalker0

Adventurer
If a wizard found an imprisoned creature (aka the spell). Could they use that creature as the target for simulacrum?

How about if they were under sequester?
 

jaelis

Explorer
If a wizard found an imprisoned creature (aka the spell). Could they use that creature as the target for simulacrum?

How about if they were under sequester?
It surely depends on the type of imprisonment. Hard to see why it wouldn't work with chains, hard to see how it would work with hedge prison or burial. I'd rule based on whether you can be in range of the target, and whether you can get the fingernail clippings etc. One edge case would be the gem prison, if you already had the clippings and were possessed of the gem. Does the imprisoned figure count as being in range? I'd say no, touching the gem doesn't count as touching the target.

For sequester it seems fine, assuming you can locate the target and get to it.
 

jaelis

Explorer
If you cast Simulcrum via wish it will work with any version of Imprisonment.
How do you figure? Still have to touch the target, right?

Oh, I must have looked it up on an off-brand site. Range is 30 ft. Still tougher for burial and hedged prison though...
 
Last edited:

Advertisement

Top