Can you counterspell into a globe of invulnerability?

dshai527

First Post
Hasn't come up in game yet, but it may and after reading the text I am not sure how I would rule on it. So, I thought I would open it up to the rest of you and see. Sorry if the question has come up before.

If a mage has a globe of invulnerability (Or lesser) up and is casting a 3rd level or lower spell can he be counterspelled? or even if it is a higher level spell and the opponent is using dispell magic to counter (Not counting a druid for lesser).

My get reaction to to allow the counterspell if the effect takes place outside the globe but not inside the globe, but I could use more input. Thanks.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Sounds good to me. Actually, I have never had counterspelling be used in my game; but that is how I would rule it.

By the same token, I would not allow dispelling of ongoing prohibited spells inside the globe (with the exception of Druidic dispel and lesser globe), i.e. Bull's Strength cast before the globe.

Note that if the effect takes place inside the globe, and it is prohibited, it is suppressed, so dispelling is not necessary until the globe comes down.

Higher level spells targeted inside the globe, counterspelled by dispel, would not work.

Ciao
Dave
 

Well... I would rule the other way... When you are trying to counter, you are in effect acting before the target spell has been completed by the enemy, and therefor, it hasn't left him, so it is still within the globe...


Mike
 

mikebr99 said:
Well... I would rule the other way... When you are trying to counter, you are in effect acting before the target spell has been completed by the enemy, and therefor, it hasn't left him, so it is still within the globe...

Agreed.

Plus, when you counter a spell, you are effectively casting a spell to do that (just in a slightly different manner to get a different effect). Hence, if your spell is not high enough level to get through the globe, it does not counter.

The spell being cast inside the Globe is fully cast before it leaves the Globe, hence, it cannot be countered (unless the spell attempting to counter it is higher level than the Globe can stop).
 


Remove ads

Top