I don't see why you wouldn't get the bonus in that case.
el-remmen said:I don't see why you wouldn't get the bonus in that case.
Hypersmurf said:Does common sense require that someone gets harder to hit when they stop moving?
phindar said:The situation is rare enough that I'd be fine with however the GM adjudicated it, either with a circumstance bonus, or just by following the RAW and making an unconscious guy slightly harder to hit than the conscious, crippled and flanked guy.
I disagree that the PHB rule is that the allies are cooperating in a flank, except by the "friendly" language. All you have to do to flank is threaten. The two characters do not have to be attacking the flanked foe. If you had a battle line that looked like : A - 1 - B - 2 where A and B were allies and 1 and 2 were allies, B could be full attacking 2 while fighting defensively and declaring 2 his dodge 'target' and he would still provide flanking to A in A's attack on 1. Technicly I'm not even sure he has to know A is there, as long as he is threatening 1.phindar said:To me it comes down to what you consider "flanking" to be. Does the bonus derive from two allies coordinating their strikes to minimize the opponent's defenses (say, with one striking high while one strikes low), or is it something that happens to the defender when he has to split his attention in two directions? If you rule its the former (which the PHB seems to), then only allies can flank. If you rule its the latter (which is understandable), then its something two unallied attackers could do to a third.
Agreed. Note that the glossary says:javcs said:"The enemy of my enemy is my friend."
When making a melee attack, you get a +2 flanking bonus...
RigaMortus2 said:Would now be a good time to ask if a "flanking bonus" is essentially the same thing as flanking? Are they seperate things, a "flanking bonus" and being "flanked"?
And, can you flank with a ranged weapon? I know you wouldn't get a flanking bonus, that is only if you make a melee attack
But let's say I am 10 feet away from an opponent, and I have a bow out, and the opponent is being threatened by a character or creature friendly to me on the opponent's opposite border... Is he still considered flanked? I am not making a melee attack, so I don't get the +2 flanking bonus.... BUT, all other criteria match, right?
The rules say:RigaMortus2 said:Now I just have to convince my DM to read the rules literally so I can make a ranged-based Rogue so I can Sneak Attack w/ a bow via flanking
mvincent said:The rules say:
"The rogue’s attack deals extra damage any time her target would be denied a Dexterity bonus to AC (whether the target actually has a Dexterity bonus or not), or when the rogue flanks her target."
So you could get a flank bonus when say, using a whip, but a rogue would you would need to be the one flanking in order to get sneak damage.
When in doubt about whether two friendly characters flank an opponent in the middle, trace an imaginary line between the two friendly characters’ centers. If the line passes through opposite borders of the opponent’s space (including corners of those borders), then the opponent is flanked.