Can you move a spell from one hand to another?

Fenlock

First Post
Hi

I am in a bit of a doubt wether it is possible to move touch spell from one hand to another.
The question came up yesterday, when the druid needed a free hand. I ruled that he could either use his offhand at -4, or drop the flameblade from his primary hand.
But now i am wondering if it is possible to move the flame-blade to another hand (eq. as a move-equivalent action). Or in the general move a touch spell from one hand to another after it has been cast.
I cant remember if it is covered anywere in the rules (and since i am at work i cant look it up).

/F
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I'm pretty sure this has not been covered in the core rules, and can't recall an FAQ comment on it either, so you're on your own. I personally would not allow touch spells to be moved from one hand to the other (since touching something automatically discharges a touch spell). But since flame blade is not a touch spell and creates a blade-like beam of fire, I would consider allowing it.
 

I'd imagine that specifying which hand holds the charge is part of the casting of the spell. Flame blade is a bit different since it more or less creates an object that is held more than anything else. Frankly, I don't think anybody in my group would notice if somebody with no free hands tried to do something that needed a free hand. (EX: "I run across the room and open the flood gate" results in: "OK, water starts coming into the room" not: "You don't have a free hand. Do you drop your shield or your flame blade?")
 

I'd allow it to be suppressed as a free action and re-lit as a move action, but I'm generous in that regard... I think that spells should work for you, and the low duration of Flame Blade is limiting enough.

-- N
 

(Range) Touch: You must touch a creature or object to affect it.

(Duration) Touch Spells and Holding the Charge: In most cases, if you don’t discharge a touch spell on the round you cast it, you can hold the charge (postpone the discharge of the spell) indefinitely. You can make touch attacks round after round. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates.

There is no "hand" in touch spells. It's not like you have blue flames shooting out of your right hand just waiting to set something on fire. You have the ability to discharge a spell through a touch attack. You can pick up a letter, shake your friend's hand, whatever you want to do, until you *choose* to make a touch attack, and on a successful attack, discharge the spell.

Nothing says otherwise.

As for flame blade, by the description in the SRD, it springs forth and stays there until the spell goes away. You can choose which hand in the beginning, since it doesn't specify otherwise, but once it's there, it's staying. I don't think it would be unreasonable to allow it to come and go as you like, but that would be a house rule.

-The Souljourner
 



The Souljourner said:
There is no "hand" in touch spells.

Don't forget, this is a 3E question... and the 3E SRD includes a line you missed.

"If the character touches anything with the character's hand while holding a charge, the spell discharges."

And then there are specific examples, like Chill Touch: "A touch from the character's hand disrupts the life force of living creatures", or Inflict Light Wounds: "When laying the character's hand upon a creature, the character channels negative energy that deals 1d8 points of damage +1 point per caster level (maximum +5)".

-Hyp.
 
Last edited:

So I guess creatures with no hands, but class levels in cleric, are out of luck in 3.0...

The High Rakshasa Priest! Sorry, can't inflict/cure... I have paws...
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top