Can you ready an action to cast a spell?

Question

First Post
Can you ready an action to cast a spell based on enemy actions?

For example could you say "When the orcs move within 15 ft i will hit them with color spray"?

Or "If any enemies pop around the corner i will nail them with an acid arrow"?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Question said:
Can you ready an action to cast a spell based on enemy actions?
Yes, but keep in mind that DM adjudication may limit the trigger events. For example, I would not allow (nor do I think the rules allow) you to say, "If enemy A comes around the corner, I hit him with magic missile, but if enemy B sticks his face out of the window, I hit him with an acid arrow."

It's "IF __ THEN __." No ELSE clauses. :)
 







Infiniti2000 said:
ThirdWizard said:
You could always ready a Standard Action and when it triggers use a Swift Action.
No, you can't.
Sure you could.

"You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally." PHB, page 139.

"You can take a swift action any time you would normally be allowed to take a free action." Spell Compendium, page 4.
 

Remove ads

Top