Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Can you use misty step to arrest a fall?
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Lyxen" data-source="post: 8434104" data-attributes="member: 7032025"><p>Very easy, because it's not written in the spell description. The rules only do what they say they do.</p><p></p><p>You, however, are claiming that "<em>Ready an Action</em> does not have the ability to negate an attack." You therefore have to find where the rules say this, good luck, because it's not there.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Wrong, it does not say it, ever. Read the rule.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>None of the abilities mentioned here negate attacks, neither shield not deflect missiles. It's not in their description anyway.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Yes, he did. Please have a look at the attack sequence, the pre-requisite of which is declaring that you attack someone.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Honestly, you are down to this level ? Fine, declaring that you are using the attack action and then targeting someone as part of the resolution of that attack. But you are still wrong.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>It does. You can only declare a target as part of the resolution of an attack, read the PH. If you are resolving an attack it's because you have declared its use.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Once more, read the rules about readied actions. The resolution of the reaction interrupts (without any specification of what it can interrupt, so it's generic) whatever is happening on the other person's turn). There is no limitation. Once more, the rules do what they say they do. If you think that there is some limit, please prove it in the rules.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>This is just your personal interpretation and nothing in the rules support it. There is not a single sentence in the rules that will support what you say, and once more, the rules only do what they say they do. Don't invent.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>See above, as soon as you target someone, you have used your attack. It's part of the attack RESOLUTION sequence. Read it.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>I'm sorry, but you are the one who has invented many rules, as proven above. I am just applying the very few rules in the book, which do not specify limits on their usage. Please don't invent any that are not in the books just because you think it should be right.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Lyxen, post: 8434104, member: 7032025"] Very easy, because it's not written in the spell description. The rules only do what they say they do. You, however, are claiming that "[I]Ready an Action[/I] does not have the ability to negate an attack." You therefore have to find where the rules say this, good luck, because it's not there. Wrong, it does not say it, ever. Read the rule. None of the abilities mentioned here negate attacks, neither shield not deflect missiles. It's not in their description anyway. Yes, he did. Please have a look at the attack sequence, the pre-requisite of which is declaring that you attack someone. Honestly, you are down to this level ? Fine, declaring that you are using the attack action and then targeting someone as part of the resolution of that attack. But you are still wrong. It does. You can only declare a target as part of the resolution of an attack, read the PH. If you are resolving an attack it's because you have declared its use. Once more, read the rules about readied actions. The resolution of the reaction interrupts (without any specification of what it can interrupt, so it's generic) whatever is happening on the other person's turn). There is no limitation. Once more, the rules do what they say they do. If you think that there is some limit, please prove it in the rules. This is just your personal interpretation and nothing in the rules support it. There is not a single sentence in the rules that will support what you say, and once more, the rules only do what they say they do. Don't invent. See above, as soon as you target someone, you have used your attack. It's part of the attack RESOLUTION sequence. Read it. I'm sorry, but you are the one who has invented many rules, as proven above. I am just applying the very few rules in the book, which do not specify limits on their usage. Please don't invent any that are not in the books just because you think it should be right. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Can you use misty step to arrest a fall?
Top