Davelozzi
Explorer
SRD v3.5 said:Wild Shape (Su): At 5th level, a druid gains the ability to turn herself into any Small or Medium animal...The new form’s Hit Dice can’t exceed the character’s druid level.
Okay, a druid can first start wild shaping at 5th level, and can only shape into small or medium creatures that he or she is familiar with, and only creatures with 5 HD or less. So, a 5th level druid raised in a temperate forest can wild shape into a black bear. A standard black bear is a 3 HD medium size creature, but they can be advanced to 4 or 5 HD (and remain medium sized).
So is there anything preventing this druid from wild shaping into the 5 HD black bear, or should it be only able to take the form of the standard black bear? I don't see anything in the rules that would prevent this but I'm curious as to everyone thinks and how you play it in your game.
By the way, I just used the 5th level druid and black bear as an example, but my question is really about the situation in general. Feel free to substitute other animals and more powerful druids.
And yes, there is a druid in my campaign who's just hit 5th level and gained wild shape, but it's not me -- I'm the DM.