Can zones extend?

Obryn

Hero
Alright, so picture this.

A Dark Stalker uses his Dark Fog ability, which is an Area Burst 4 that creates a Zone. He happens to center this right in front of a closed door.

Obviously, the Dark Fog doesn't go through the door in the initial burst, because there's no line of effect from the center of the burst.

Afterwards, though, the Dark Stalker can maintain the Zone with a minor action.

If someone opens the door, will the Zone resize and extend past the door into the adjoining room?

(This can work for any Burst spell that turns into a Zone; I just have Dark Stalkers in my game this weeked. I can guess this would be a regular concern for a Shaman.)

-O
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Alright, so picture this.

A Dark Stalker uses his Dark Fog ability, which is an Area Burst 4 that creates a Zone. He happens to center this right in front of a closed door.

Obviously, the Dark Fog doesn't go through the door in the initial burst, because there's no line of effect from the center of the burst.

Afterwards, though, the Dark Stalker can maintain the Zone with a minor action.

If someone opens the door, will the Zone resize and extend past the door into the adjoining room?

(This can work for any Burst spell that turns into a Zone; I just have Dark Stalkers in my game this weeked. I can guess this would be a regular concern for a Shaman.)

-O
I hate to bump this, but this will definitely come up the game tonight and I'd like to get some input. :)
 


I would say yes. The limiting factors on the original use of the power are due to line of sight and line of effect, but the zone size is the zone size. If the limiting factors are removed then the zone should grow to fill its normal area of effect, if it is maintained. I wouldn't extend the zone until it is sustained though.
 

That could definitely work.

I'm leaning towards allowing the zone to extend, myself. I'm not sure if I want to wait until the Sustain action, though... That might get too bookkeepy for my preferences. :) I can see how it could make sense, rule-wise...

-O
 




Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top